[announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Artist radio, genre radio & related artists. A Subsonic server for music nerds.

Moderator: moderators

[announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby hakko » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:08 pm

Release notes: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9777&p=49511#p49511

This thread is for discussing the release.
MusicCabinet developer
hakko
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby hakko » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:33 pm

By the way, this is also where you might benefit from learning/running some SQL.

I just ran this query:
Code: Select all
select art.artist_name, alb.album_name, mbalb.first_release_year, mbt.description, mbf.description from
(select artist_id, sum(play_count) from library.trackplaycount tpc inner join music.track t on tpc.track_id = t.id group by artist_id) pc
inner join music.artist art on pc.artist_id = art.id
inner join music.album alb on alb.artist_id = art.id
inner join music.mb_album mbalb on mbalb.album_id = alb.id
inner join music.mb_format mbf on mbalb.format_id = mbf.id
inner join music.mb_album_type mbt on mbalb.type_id = mbt.id
where not exists (select 1 from library.album where album_id = alb.id)
and mbt.description in ('album', 'ep')
order by pc.sum desc, mbalb.first_release_year limit 25;


.. and it gives me the top 25 albums and EPs, ranked by artists (based on how much I've listened to them, ever), that are missing in my library. That's interesting knowledge!

It only works if you've supplied your last.fm username on the Settings -> MusicCabinet page, then your entire scrobbling stats ever is downloaded and imported to Postgres as part of scanning your library.
MusicCabinet developer
hakko
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby godheadv » Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:24 am

thank you very much for implementing the last.fm scrobbling of album name alongside artist and track. :)

also, can't wait to try out the musicbrainz integration; seems very useful for album completists.
godheadv
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:09 am

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby precipitous » Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:38 pm

@hakko: MusicBrainz integration was an awesome idea, and works wonderfully! Thank you for adding it to MusicCabinet... One quick question - how does the Recently Played feature work? Is it supposed to display missing releases for all of the bands listened to recently, or something else?

Cheers!
User avatar
precipitous
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:43 pm
Location: Santa Barbara CA USA

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby hakko » Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:13 am

Thanks! Yes, I believe that MusicBrainz information could come in handy in more ways: for showing artist discography, when choosing top tracks (to pick the right album) etc.

The Recently Played drop down box is meant as a filter, to only show artists that you've listened to in Subsonic/MusicCabinet the last days/weeks/months. Otherwise, it easily becomes too much information. And I guess everyone doesn't use the database as much as I do for looking up information.
MusicCabinet developer
hakko
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby dewd » Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:19 am

Adding MusicBrainz to MusicCabinet is a great idea. The only request I have is please move the link to somewhere other than the bottom of the artist tree. I have over 1000 artists I have to scroll past to click the link.

Thanks for making this awesome mod. :mrgreen:
User avatar
dewd
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby LJeneral » Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:01 am

Thanks very much for this Hakko! I've just started using subsonic and this is an awesome upgrade to the main program. The interface is very clean and neat, very pleasing on the eye. I just have a quick question, I don't know if its been answered before. I noticed you say in another post that MusicCabinet is for well organized/tagged libraries. If this is true why does it pay no attention to the disc number tag? This is kind of important to me as I have a lot of DJ Mixes and compilations that share the same album title and artists but have multiple discs.

In MusicCabinet on my PC it will list them correctly eg. All of disc 1, then 2,3 etc. But when I use the subsonic app on my phone it confuses them and puts all the track 1's first then, 2 etc. I hope I'm explaining myself properly. For example Philip Glass Music in 12 parts orders and plays perfectly on the Laptop but on android the tracks show, part 1, part 9, part 5 etc. Is there a way to order them so they follow their track/disc number? Maybe I missed something in the options.

Also is there a way to refresh the code on the left panel? I installed it clean but the box above artist has ended up very small on my installation and can't be used for anything. I stopped subsonic, changed the .war file, restarted but the problem is still there. Is there someway to refresh this part of the code or am I being silly?

Sorry for the multiple questions, I'm not sure if the questions I've asked are stupid or not. I didn't know how to forward a port until last week :oops:

One last thing, where is your donate button? A man should be rewarded for his work :D
LJeneral
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:38 am

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby hakko » Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:06 pm

MusicCabinet internally keeps track of disc number, and uses them to order tracks in the web interface. For the apps, Sindre has sadly left out disc numbers in the API (see http://subsonic.svn.sourceforge.net/vie ... iew=markup). I guess he expected everyone to keep multi-disc albums in separate directories, or just didn't think about it. What I could do as a work-around is to return track numbers for the first disc as 1,2,3... and for disc 2 return 101,102,103... and for disc 3 return 201,202,203... etc. That would make everything sorted (and ugly), at least, but the issue should really be brought up with Sindre.

The box above the artists is supposed to contain the same genres as your genre cloud. Have you configured which genres to use? The left frame is cached pretty aggressively. Reloading the page should work, otherwise, a restart of the service should really do it. Is your genre cloud empty too?

For donations, I normally ask people to donate money to charity if they enjoy MusicCabinet and report here for karma. There are people and animals in much more need than me. Thanks for asking!
MusicCabinet developer
hakko
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby Pcace » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:16 am

Hey Hakko,

again it is a great piece of software you wrote there!! It is nearly 20h a day used by around 20 People here my server!
One Question: Can you explain me the limitation of the 3000 Albums to check via MusicBrainz? i mean that it is time consuming is clear, but why "only" 3000?


Thanks again for Musiccabinet!!!!


Pcace


EDIT: One more question: Is there a posibility to have a global last-fm Account? -- So that there is one Account for the whole Subsonic daemon?
Or is it possible to set the last-fm account for all Users to one?
Pcace
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:44 pm

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby LJeneral » Tue Dec 04, 2012 1:29 pm

Thanks for the reply Hakko. I didn't realize it was a limitation with the API. The track numbering 101, 201 etc is something that I did with MP3tag to allow vanilla subsonic to read the files properly for multi disc albums from one folder. If you put them CD1, CD2 it doesn't display the artwork on the phone app but does in Subsonic on the computer.

I will make a request in the feature request forum but noticed this issue has been raised many times over the years after I performed a search. Hopefully this is something that Sindre can address with the next update.

Thanks for the info on how to use the genre cloud. It's now populated and working as it should. I was going to ask if it could use my own genres but noticed your reply in another post to this question.

As for the donation. I will make one at the next available opportunity. Keep up the great work! :D
LJeneral
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:38 am

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby hakko » Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:19 pm

Pcace wrote:again it is a great piece of software you wrote there!! It is nearly 20h a day used by around 20 People here my server!
One Question: Can you explain me the limitation of the 3000 Albums to check via MusicBrainz? i mean that it is time consuming is clear, but why "only" 3000?


MusicBrainz has some rules to play by (which is good, they have limited resources). I'm just trying to be a good citizen and don't overload their servers. If MusicCabinet is noticed to misbehave, they could switch off access forever.

Pcace wrote:One more question: Is there a posibility to have a global last-fm Account? -- So that there is one Account for the whole Subsonic daemon?
Or is it possible to set the last-fm account for all Users to one?


If you have 20 people listening at the same time, it's not gonna work out well having them all scrobble to the same last.fm account. Reason: MusicCabinet keeps track of how long you've listened to a song and the length of the song, to not scrobble until you've listened to 80% of it. If 20 people have the same account, that will be interpreted as one person who starts listening to new songs all the time without ever finishing listening to the previous one, and nothing will actually be scrobbled.
MusicCabinet developer
hakko
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby hakko » Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:31 pm

LJeneral wrote:Thanks for the reply Hakko. I didn't realize it was a limitation with the API. The track numbering 101, 201 etc is something that I did with MP3tag to allow vanilla subsonic to read the files properly for multi disc albums from one folder. If you put them CD1, CD2 it doesn't display the artwork on the phone app but does in Subsonic on the computer.


I could make a workaround in the next release to return tracks as 101, 102 etc for multi-disc albums until Sindre changes the API. I don't think people should change their tags because of limitations in Subsonic - there is a disc number and a track number tag, that should be enough.

For MusicCabinet, you can't put artwork in one directory, and then add subdirectories CD1, CD2 etc where the music is stored. Artwork has to be stored in the same directory as one of the music files (so in either directory CD1 or CD2) for it to be associated with the actual files.

For the web interface, artwork from last.fm is often used so then you don't have to think about it. But last.fm artwork is not supported for the apps either since it's introduced by MusicCabinet, not by Sindre.
MusicCabinet developer
hakko
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby LJeneral » Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:31 pm

hakko wrote:I could make a workaround in the next release to return tracks as 101, 102 etc for multi-disc albums until Sindre changes the API. I don't think people should change their tags because of limitations in Subsonic - there is a disc number and a track number tag, that should be enough.


That would be great Hakko and much appreciated. I have already changed all my tags back to the "proper" way so as not to interfere with my foobar settings.
This will help greatly with releases like Future Sound of London, "Lifeforms" and Philip Glass, "Music in Twelve Parts" where it needs to be played in order. Is this something that only Sindre could implement, or would the author of DSub be able to implement this in his app?

Anyway, this thread is about MusicCabinet so let us continue there. I've been using it pretty solidly for about a week now and am finding new things all the time. I just have a couple of queries, suggestions.

In Foobar when you set it to monitor a folder it will automatically add new music as soon as it's put in a monitored folder, there is no need to do a library refresh. Is there anyway this could happen with MusicCabinet or will it always need a refresh? If it needs a refresh can it be done from the mobile app?

On the left bar where all the artists are displayed it says Artists, but the drop down menu underneath displays genres not artists. I realize that this one is a little bit anal retentive, but maybe put artists under the box and change it to genres on top of the box? I have no idea how difficult this is so please forgive my ignorance.

The musicbrainz database is a nice touch but could it be moved from the bottom of the list to the top? Seems silly to click Z then scroll down to access it.

When I go to Settings\Personal and select, reluctant artists loading no, I have a suggestion. When I click on (for example) Z it drops down the artists that start with Z, the list then stays down until I click on an artist or something different, If I click on Z again it should shrink and go back to the artist letter. Just a suggestion. Clicking on the letter should make it big, and when clicked again, make it small.

I'm not sure if I've changed an option in the settings or not but when I played music on my computer before in the right panel It showed my username@home for my computer and when I used my phone, username@phone (home and phone being my designated players in the options) this no longer happens anymore and it just shows my username for both. Any way to check or correct this?

With regards to artist tagging in, foobar you can right click on the album and have an option to tag from the discogs database, you select the artist and then the name of the album. Then you can select from the lists to choose the right album\tags. Again, I'm not sure how difficult this would be to implement so apologies :oops:

At the moment in Settings\ General I have my Index like this # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X-Z(XYZ) but in the left panel the # artists don't start at the top which I thought I was requesting. The # (number artists) go to the bottom after XYZ. Have I set up the Index wrong? It worked in vanilla subsonic.

Related to that last point, if I select, reluctant artists no. It displays them at the top above A under $ 1 2 3 4 which act as drop down lists but all display the same information which should be under #. I think I'm maybe not understanding how to set up the index properly. Any help would be appreciated.

I hope you don't think I'm criticizing. I love the mod but am unsure where you would like to take it. I realise everyone has a private personal life away from the computer. Thanks for your time and keep up the good work! :D
LJeneral
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:38 am

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby LJeneral » Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:33 pm

Shit, sorry man. I just realised I didn't include pictures. I'll make sure I do so from now on :oops:
LJeneral
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:38 am

Re: [announcement] MusicCabinet 0.7.15 released

Postby hakko » Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:06 pm

LJeneral wrote:Is this something that only Sindre could implement, or would the author of DSub be able to implement this in his app?


We could agree to use disc number without asking Sindre. There's a small risk that some app does some validation and will fail if we introduce new attributes though. It would be preferable if Sindre introduced it to make it official.. but I don't know if that'll happen.

LJeneral wrote:In Foobar when you set it to monitor a folder it will automatically add new music as soon as it's put in a monitored folder, there is no need to do a library refresh. Is there anyway this could happen with MusicCabinet or will it always need a refresh?


That's a good idea, but there's no API in Java to monitor complete subdirectories, for what I know (only specific directories).

LJeneral wrote:If it needs a refresh can it be done from the mobile app?


I don't think forcing a rescan is available in the official API. I've seen it been asked for but it should be added by Sindre, too.

LJeneral wrote:On the left bar where all the artists are displayed it says Artists, but the drop down menu underneath displays genres not artists. I realize that this one is a little bit anal retentive, but maybe put artists under the box and change it to genres on top of the box? I have no idea how difficult this is so please forgive my ignorance.

The musicbrainz database is a nice touch but could it be moved from the bottom of the list to the top? Seems silly to click Z then scroll down to access it.

When I go to Settings\Personal and select, reluctant artists loading no, I have a suggestion. When I click on (for example) Z it drops down the artists that start with Z, the list then stays down until I click on an artist or something different, If I click on Z again it should shrink and go back to the artist letter. Just a suggestion. Clicking on the letter should make it big, and when clicked again, make it small.

I'm not sure if I've changed an option in the settings or not but when I played music on my computer before in the right panel It showed my username@home for my computer and when I used my phone, username@phone (home and phone being my designated players in the options) this no longer happens anymore and it just shows my username for both. Any way to check or correct this?


The best way to adjust things like these is to grab the code and modify it to fit your needs. UI improvements aren't top priority for me (as usual). Still hoping for a skilled designer to show up...

LJeneral wrote:With regards to artist tagging in, foobar you can right click on the album and have an option to tag from the discogs database, you select the artist and then the name of the album. Then you can select from the lists to choose the right album\tags. Again, I'm not sure how difficult this would be to implement so apologies :oops:


It's not a bad idea but I personally use beets for tagging my music. It's awesome, so I won't try to create something better, it doesn't seem worth the effort.

LJeneral wrote:At the moment in Settings\ General I have my Index like this # A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X-Z(XYZ) but in the left panel the # artists don't start at the top which I thought I was requesting. The # (number artists) go to the bottom after XYZ. Have I set up the Index wrong? It worked in vanilla subsonic.

Related to that last point, if I select, reluctant artists no. It displays them at the top above A under $ 1 2 3 4 which act as drop down lists but all display the same information which should be under #. I think I'm maybe not understanding how to set up the index properly. Any help would be appreciated.


I think this part is just a bit unpolished. When I wrote it, I had to re-write heaps of old Subsonic code from scratch to work with PostgreSQL and I just wanted to get it done to move on to more interesting parts of the project. I feel like that right now too - I've created something that fits my needs, and it's more exciting to add new features that I haven't found in any other tool (like the MusicBrainz missing album thing) than to add configuration options. I just have a couple of hours here and there of concentrated work to put in, so I have to choose what to put effort into. So I add things that I miss and feature requests I get excited about, but not everything people ask for, no matter how sound the ideas are or how much sense they make.
MusicCabinet developer
hakko
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:05 pm
Location: Sweden


Return to MusicCabinet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests