SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Moderator: moderators

Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby ggibby » Tue May 15, 2012 9:21 pm

paulodell wrote:Hi gibby,
Sorry I don't know about qnap installs I coded and built SubWiji using an OSX install.


Well, I've done some wider testing with Chrome (Subsonic web UI), SubAir, Periscope, and Sharpsonic.
Whenever SubWiji exhibited a playback issue (slowing down/speeding up, hanging),
I tried at least two of the other four, and they all played the track.

What's so different about your app that it has this bug?

-G
User avatar
ggibby
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:23 pm

Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby Nemo157 » Wed May 16, 2012 12:04 am

Just started noticing some really weird behaviour on some songs. Basically it plays through most of the song perfectly, then near the end it starts buffering every couple of seconds continuously until I skip it.

Relevant log file:

Code: Select all
[5/16/12 11:41:08 AM NZST]   INFO   StreamController   Got range: Range[0,9223372036854775807]
[5/16/12 11:41:08 AM NZST]   INFO   PlaylistInputStream   nemo157 listening to "Finally We Are No One/04 - Don't Be Afraid, You Have Just Got Your Eyes Closed.mp3"
[5/16/12 11:41:08 AM NZST]   DEBUG   TranscodeInputStream   Starting transcoder: [/var/subsonic/transcode/ffmpeg] [-i] [/mnt/storage/Music/múm/Finally We Are No One/04 - Don't Be Afraid, You Have Just Got Your Eyes Closed.mp3] [-ab] [256k] [-v] [0] [-f] [mp3] [-]
[5/16/12 11:41:13 AM NZST]   DEBUG   AudioScrobblerService   Successfully registered submission for song 'We Have a Map of the Piano' for user nemo157_ at Last.fm.
[5/16/12 11:41:15 AM NZST]   DEBUG   AudioScrobblerService   Successfully registered now playing for song 'Don't Be Afraid, You Have Just Got Your Eyes Closed' for user nemo157_ at Last.fm.
[5/16/12 11:46:39 AM NZST]   INFO   StreamController   Got range: Range[10208000,9223372036854775807]
[5/16/12 11:46:39 AM NZST]   INFO   PlaylistInputStream   nemo157 listening to "Finally We Are No One/04 - Don't Be Afraid, You Have Just Got Your Eyes Closed.mp3"
[5/16/12 11:46:39 AM NZST]   DEBUG   TranscodeInputStream   Starting transcoder: [/var/subsonic/transcode/ffmpeg] [-i] [/mnt/storage/Music/múm/Finally We Are No One/04 - Don't Be Afraid, You Have Just Got Your Eyes Closed.mp3] [-ab] [256k] [-v] [0] [-f] [mp3] [-]
[5/16/12 11:47:11 AM NZST]   INFO   StreamController   Got range: Range[10432000,9223372036854775807]
[5/16/12 11:47:11 AM NZST]   INFO   PlaylistInputStream   nemo157 listening to "Finally We Are No One/04 - Don't Be Afraid, You Have Just Got Your Eyes Closed.mp3"
[5/16/12 11:47:11 AM NZST]   DEBUG   TranscodeInputStream   Starting transcoder: [/var/subsonic/transcode/ffmpeg] [-i] [/mnt/storage/Music/múm/Finally We Are No One/04 - Don't Be Afraid, You Have Just Got Your Eyes Closed.mp3] [-ab] [256k] [-v] [0] [-f] [mp3] [-]
[5/16/12 11:47:41 AM NZST]   INFO   StreamController   Got range: Range[10528000,9223372036854775807]
[5/16/12 11:47:41 AM NZST]   INFO   PlaylistInputStream   nemo157 listening to "Finally We Are No One/04 - Don't Be Afraid, You Have Just Got Your Eyes Closed.mp3"
[5/16/12 11:47:41 AM NZST]   DEBUG   TranscodeInputStream   Starting transcoder: [/var/subsonic/transcode/ffmpeg] [-i] [/mnt/storage/Music/múm/Finally We Are No One/04 - Don't Be Afraid, You Have Just Got Your Eyes Closed.mp3] [-ab] [256k] [-v] [0] [-f] [mp3] [-]


Graph of data, the first hump was the same thing happening for the previous song end of it at ~11:41 is where the song started, the hump at the end is it re-buffering continuously:
Image
User avatar
Nemo157
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 4:01 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby paulodell » Wed May 16, 2012 5:47 am

Nemo157 wrote:Just started noticing some really weird behaviour on some songs. Basically it plays through most of the song perfectly, then near the end it starts buffering every couple of seconds continuously until I skip it.

Hi Nemo,
A few things to check, at the time what upload speed do you have? How many users where on your server at that time?
Try changing the stream buffer in Subwiji settings (if it is on 1 second change it to about 5) see if that helps.
Another check is what bitrate is the user account limited to (if it's not set please try and set it - even if you set it to the 320 max subsonic sometimes gets.confused and attacks the upload as your screenshot shows)
Cheers
Paul

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2
SubWiji http://tinyurl.com/7sxwbfv Install http://subwiji.paulodell.co.uk
Transcode Step1 "ffmpeg -f mp3 -i %s -ab %bk -v 0 -f mp3 -"
Tremor Games http://www.tremorgames.com/?ref=59174
User avatar
paulodell
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:28 am
Location: UK

Re: Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby paulodell » Wed May 16, 2012 5:50 am

ggibby wrote:
paulodell wrote:Hi gibby,
Sorry I don't know about qnap installs I coded and built SubWiji using an OSX install.


Well, I've done some wider testing with Chrome (Subsonic web UI), SubAir, Periscope, and Sharpsonic.
Whenever SubWiji exhibited a playback issue (slowing down/speeding up, hanging),
I tried at least two of the other four, and they all played the track.

What's so different about your app that it has this bug?

-G

Mine is an mp3 only player which means that if the mp3 file is not a constant bitrate it cab cause issues.
It is in my plan to try and.improve this but for now a simple transcoder is the easiest fix

Thanks
Paul

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2
SubWiji http://tinyurl.com/7sxwbfv Install http://subwiji.paulodell.co.uk
Transcode Step1 "ffmpeg -f mp3 -i %s -ab %bk -v 0 -f mp3 -"
Tremor Games http://www.tremorgames.com/?ref=59174
User avatar
paulodell
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:28 am
Location: UK

Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby Nemo157 » Wed May 16, 2012 10:37 pm

paulodell wrote:Hi Nemo,
A few things to check, at the time what upload speed do you have? How many users where on your server at that time?
Try changing the stream buffer in Subwiji settings (if it is on 1 second change it to about 5) see if that helps.
Another check is what bitrate is the user account limited to (if it's not set please try and set it - even if you set it to the 320 max subsonic sometimes gets.confused and attacks the upload as your screenshot shows)
Cheers
Paul

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2

We have quite limited upload, but it is normally able to handle about two streams at once. This was just myself using the server. The buffer is currently set to 10 seconds and the bitrate limit is 256k. Just tested the same song again and it's still doing the same thing, tried with a buffer setting of 1 second and that seemed to get closer to the end before screwing up, and with a buffer setting of 30 seconds it's definitely screwing up earlier. I can provide you an account on my server if you want to try and debug it.
User avatar
Nemo157
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 4:01 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby paulodell » Thu May 17, 2012 5:43 am

Nemo157 wrote:
paulodell wrote:Hi Nemo,
A few things to check, at the time what upload speed do you have? How many users where on your server at that time?
Try changing the stream buffer in Subwiji settings (if it is on 1 second change it to about 5) see if that helps.
Another check is what bitrate is the user account limited to (if it's not set please try and set it - even if you set it to the 320 max subsonic sometimes gets.confused and attacks the upload as your screenshot shows)
Cheers
Paul

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2

We have quite limited upload, but it is normally able to handle about two streams at once. This was just myself using the server. The buffer is currently set to 10 seconds and the bitrate limit is 256k. Just tested the same song again and it's still doing the same thing, tried with a buffer setting of 1 second and that seemed to get closer to the end before screwing up, and with a buffer setting of 30 seconds it's definitely screwing up earlier. I can provide you an account on my server if you want to try and debug it.

Are you using the transcoder in my signature?
Yes if you can get me a login please pm to me and I'll have a look when I can fond time
Thanks
Paul

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2
SubWiji http://tinyurl.com/7sxwbfv Install http://subwiji.paulodell.co.uk
Transcode Step1 "ffmpeg -f mp3 -i %s -ab %bk -v 0 -f mp3 -"
Tremor Games http://www.tremorgames.com/?ref=59174
User avatar
paulodell
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:28 am
Location: UK

Re: Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby alphawave7 » Fri May 18, 2012 5:44 am

paulodell wrote:Mine is an mp3 only player which means that if the mp3 file is not a constant bitrate it cab cause issues.
It is in my plan to try and.improve this but for now a simple transcoder is the easiest fix

Thanks
Paul

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2


Does this mean variable bitrate mp3's can be a problem? (sorry I haven't been following the discussion on this mod).
alphawave7
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:54 am

Re: Re: Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby paulodell » Fri May 18, 2012 6:16 am

alphawave7 wrote:
paulodell wrote:Mine is an mp3 only player which means that if the mp3 file is not a constant bitrate it cab cause issues.
It is in my plan to try and.improve this but for now a simple transcoder is the easiest fix

Thanks
Paul

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2


Does this mean variable bitrate mp3's can be a problem? (sorry I haven't been following the discussion on this mod).

Yes,
Simply my transcoder re encodes variable bitrate into stable bitrate mp3
Cheers
Paul

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2
SubWiji http://tinyurl.com/7sxwbfv Install http://subwiji.paulodell.co.uk
Transcode Step1 "ffmpeg -f mp3 -i %s -ab %bk -v 0 -f mp3 -"
Tremor Games http://www.tremorgames.com/?ref=59174
User avatar
paulodell
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:28 am
Location: UK

Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby paulodell » Fri May 18, 2012 7:47 am

Nemo157 wrote:We have quite limited upload, but it is normally able to handle about two streams at once. This was just myself using the server. The buffer is currently set to 10 seconds and the bitrate limit is 256k. Just tested the same song again and it's still doing the same thing, tried with a buffer setting of 1 second and that seemed to get closer to the end before screwing up, and with a buffer setting of 30 seconds it's definitely screwing up earlier. I can provide you an account on my server if you want to try and debug it.


Hi,
Thanks for the login, I have been testing it and it seems that the way that SubWiji grabs the track (if you set the buffer higher and higher) causes your issues due to low bandwidth.
I havent experienced the issue you note at all yet and I am the only person on your server.

Can you try it all again, also please can you try it with your Bitrate set at 128k instead of 256k.
What exactly is your upload speed (rated on Speedtest.net)?

Thanks

Paul
SubWiji http://tinyurl.com/7sxwbfv Install http://subwiji.paulodell.co.uk
Transcode Step1 "ffmpeg -f mp3 -i %s -ab %bk -v 0 -f mp3 -"
Tremor Games http://www.tremorgames.com/?ref=59174
User avatar
paulodell
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:28 am
Location: UK

Re: Re: Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby ggibby » Fri May 18, 2012 4:05 pm

paulodell wrote:Simply my transcoder re encodes variable bitrate into stable bitrate mp3


OK, that's understandable.
Your app is SO much cleaner and easier than the others,
I hope you can find the time to address this, since 10k of my 13k tracks are VBR...

A reminder to the other users - we are asking for Paul's time and talent, which has a value.
Donations will encourage him...

-G
Last edited by ggibby on Fri May 18, 2012 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ggibby
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:23 pm

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby paulodell » Fri May 18, 2012 4:28 pm

ggibby wrote:
paulodell wrote:Simply my transcoder re encodes variable bitrate into stable bitrate mp3


OK, that's understandable.
Your app is SO much cleaner and easier that the others,
I hope you can find the time to address this, since 10k of my 13k tracks are VBR...

A reminder to the other users - we are asking for Paul's time and talent, which has a value.
Donations will encourage him...

-G

Thanks gibby,
Your donations are welcomed :)
I have got a couple of code changes to try which may alleviate this issues.
I'm planning on spending time this weekend with some testing so I will let you know if I manage to fix it
Thanks
Paul

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2
SubWiji http://tinyurl.com/7sxwbfv Install http://subwiji.paulodell.co.uk
Transcode Step1 "ffmpeg -f mp3 -i %s -ab %bk -v 0 -f mp3 -"
Tremor Games http://www.tremorgames.com/?ref=59174
User avatar
paulodell
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:28 am
Location: UK

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby ggibby » Fri May 18, 2012 6:41 pm

paulodell wrote:I'm planning on spending time this weekend with some testing so I will let you know if I manage to fix it


Great!
I'll be away from my desk, so Monday will (hopefully) be a SubWiji Day.
User avatar
ggibby
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:23 pm

SubWiji and QNAP

Postby ggibby » Sat May 19, 2012 1:44 pm

So, Paul has been very helpful, and with some research and patience,
there seems to be a solution to some playback issues, at least for my setup.

Background:
I have Subsonic (SS) 4.6 installed on a QNAP 419P+ II NAS, which runs embedded linux on a Marvell ARM processor,
so SS had to be compiled and installed via their QPKG system.

The 4.6 version doesn't play well with Paul's transcoder config.
In fact, it stops working with the mod placed, so I wasn't using it.
During normal listening, I experienced sped up/slowed playback or sound that stops though the counter continues.

According to the changelog, 4.6 "Simplified and improved (the) transcoding framework" over 4.5.
Research on the QNAP forums suggested a fix from the person who compiled the QPKG- go back to 4.5. So I did.
It works with Paul's transcoder line, and short-term testing looks good.

I'll be back to my office until Monday, so more news then.

-G
User avatar
ggibby
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:23 pm

Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby Nemo157 » Mon May 21, 2012 12:08 pm

paulodell wrote:Hi,
Thanks for the login, I have been testing it and it seems that the way that SubWiji grabs the track (if you set the buffer higher and higher) causes your issues due to low bandwidth.
I havent experienced the issue you note at all yet and I am the only person on your server.

Can you try it all again, also please can you try it with your Bitrate set at 128k instead of 256k.
What exactly is your upload speed (rated on Speedtest.net)?

Thanks

Paul

Our upload according to speedtest.net is ~0.5 MBits. Testing with the bitrate set at 128k gave the same result. To make sure it's definitely not the bandwidth I just tested on our GigaBit LAN and it's doing the same thing.

I've also noticed it's only a few songs that seem to do it. The main one I've been using to test is múm - Finally We Are No One - 04 - Don't Be Afraid, You Have Just Got Your Eyes Closed, this works fine playing locally in Foobar2000 and streaming to both the web player and to windows media player. So as another test I ran the file through the transcoder, saved it into my music folder and played it with the transcoder disabled, miraculously it played through fine. Then using the same pre-transcoded file with the transcoder enabled also played fine.

At this point I think I'm just gonna give up, it's only a few songs that are affected so I can just skip their ends when it happens. If you want to look into it more I'd suggest looking at the Content-Range, I'm not sure how exact ffmpeg is when converting (especially since my mp3's have a lot of metadata thanks to MusicBrainz) but it looks like Subsonic declares exactly how big the transcoded file will be then truncates the output stream to that.
User avatar
Nemo157
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 4:01 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Re: Re: SubWiji - Windows Subsonic Client (WPF)

Postby paulodell » Mon May 21, 2012 12:26 pm

Nemo157 wrote:
paulodell wrote:Hi,
Thanks for the login, I have been testing it and it seems that the way that SubWiji grabs the track (if you set the buffer higher and higher) causes your issues due to low bandwidth.
I havent experienced the issue you note at all yet and I am the only person on your server.

Can you try it all again, also please can you try it with your Bitrate set at 128k instead of 256k.
What exactly is your upload speed (rated on Speedtest.net)?

Thanks

Paul

Our upload according to speedtest.net is ~0.5 MBits. Testing with the bitrate set at 128k gave the same result. To make sure it's definitely not the bandwidth I just tested on our GigaBit LAN and it's doing the same thing.

I've also noticed it's only a few songs that seem to do it. The main one I've been using to test is múm - Finally We Are No One - 04 - Don't Be Afraid, You Have Just Got Your Eyes Closed, this works fine playing locally in Foobar2000 and streaming to both the web player and to windows media player. So as another test I ran the file through the transcoder, saved it into my music folder and played it with the transcoder disabled, miraculously it played through fine. Then using the same pre-transcoded file with the transcoder enabled also played fine.

At this point I think I'm just gonna give up, it's only a few songs that are affected so I can just skip their ends when it happens. If you want to look into it more I'd suggest looking at the Content-Range, I'm not sure how exact ffmpeg is when converting (especially since my mp3's have a lot of metadata thanks to MusicBrainz) but it looks like Subsonic declares exactly how big the transcoded file will be then truncates the output stream to that.

What is the CPU load on the server when this issue is happening? What are the specs of your server?
Cheers
Paul

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2
SubWiji http://tinyurl.com/7sxwbfv Install http://subwiji.paulodell.co.uk
Transcode Step1 "ffmpeg -f mp3 -i %s -ab %bk -v 0 -f mp3 -"
Tremor Games http://www.tremorgames.com/?ref=59174
User avatar
paulodell
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:28 am
Location: UK

PreviousNext

Return to SubWiji

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests