Unable to play

Alternative Android Client for Subsonic

Moderators: daneren2005, moderators

Unable to play

Postby zosopage » Thu Jun 05, 2014 11:38 pm

Music downloads but unable to play, sent logcat for some help. HTC one M8, rooted, custom ROM, custom kernel.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
zosopage
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby daneren2005 » Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:31 am

The MediaPlayer is just throwing errors on everything you try to play. Can you play the songs after they are done downloading (ie: use Cache and then play after done downloading)?
Developer of DSub for Android
daneren2005
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:52 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby zosopage » Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:04 pm

negative.. It is weird since every once in a while, I get an album that will play.. going to reflash the ROM I am using and see if that may help a bit.
zosopage
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby zosopage » Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:08 pm

steps:
cleaned cache and delvik
fixed permissions
still no go.

Re-flashed rom, no custom kernel
uninstalled and reinstalled dsub, changed cache location to sd card (just in case)
no change.

I am going to flash back to stock and see if it works on stock...
zosopage
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby zosopage » Sun Jun 08, 2014 8:28 pm

i installed a different ROM, there are still albums that I can not play. It does seem that I am to play a bit more than prior though. I did send a logcat via email. Let me know your thoughts.
zosopage
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby zosopage » Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:16 pm

reverted back from server version 5b1 to 4.9 and I can play most songs again. The player does pause every so often, but I guess that is better than nothing.
zosopage
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby syk » Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:05 pm

I'm having this issue too with a HTC One M8 rooted to the GPE (Google Play Edition). Was rolling back your subsonic version to 4.9 the solution?
syk
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:25 am

Re: Unable to play

Postby daneren2005 » Wed Jun 11, 2014 3:14 pm

That's what he said. I hope these transcode issues get fixed before the official release or I'm going to get a flood of these :(

What OS are you guys using, and what formats are failing (to/from)? It might be worth the time trying to figure this out so that Sindre can update it.
Developer of DSub for Android
daneren2005
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:52 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby zosopage » Wed Jun 11, 2014 3:16 pm

so I was having a couple different issues.

I have a rooted M8 also, but I am running a sense rom. (how is the GPE edition? (PM me about it)). with Subsonic 5 b1, on ubuntu, I was unable to play many albums... I would guess about 90 percent of my albums. I did not see anything regarding this problem elsewhere. I found that I could not play on the server either!!! that was a big clue... duh!!! so I rolled back to 4.9 and everything is working fine again. I also have a problem that Dsub just stops in the middle of songs. With the help of the Developer, we found out that it is due to bluetooth disconnecting (I was listening through headphones). I use a fitbit flex, with the Low Power BT, so that was causing the disconnect. Dev has stated he is going to fix that in an upcoming release...I turned off background sync on the fit bit and that helps... I cant turn off BT all the way because many times I am listening through bt speaker...

Hope that helps
zosopage
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby daneren2005 » Wed Jun 11, 2014 3:19 pm

On Ubuntu, it is fairly easy to use the system ffmpeg instead of the bundled version. That's probably why I haven't had the same issues as other people since I do that. I will probably need to spend some time with the bundled version and see if I can figure out a transcode line which works with it.
Developer of DSub for Android
daneren2005
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:52 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby zosopage » Wed Jun 11, 2014 3:26 pm

daneren2005 wrote:That's what he said. I hope these transcode issues get fixed before the official release or I'm going to get a flood of these :(

What OS are you guys using, and what formats are failing (to/from)? It might be worth the time trying to figure this out so that Sindre can update it.


I am on KitKat... I tried MP3 to MP3 and MP3 to OGG that were doing the same thing... my library is all MP3.

For what its worth, I have disabled fitbit background sync and I have had only one time it stopped this morning, but I think that was just the BT speaker I was listening to.
zosopage
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby zosopage » Wed Jun 11, 2014 3:28 pm

daneren2005 wrote:On Ubuntu, it is fairly easy to use the system ffmpeg instead of the bundled version. That's probably why I haven't had the same issues as other people since I do that. I will probably need to spend some time with the bundled version and see if I can figure out a transcode line which works with it.


My server is on Ubuntu, and I have been running ubuntu for 5 years, but I am still green with it, can you give me a short rundown how to do the system ffmpeg?
zosopage
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby daneren2005 » Wed Jun 11, 2014 3:52 pm

Install from https://launchpad.net/~jon-severinsson/+archive/ffmpeg. It has a section on how to install. From there you need to create a link to the ffmpeg location which Subsonic uses. It should be under /var/subsonic/transcode? Something like that. Sorry, I can't access my server from work so I'm just going off the top of my head. You should be able to ls and see a folder which should have the ffmpeg in there. From there use something like:

Code: Select all
mv ffmpeg ffmpeg.bak

then:

Code: Select all
ln -s /usr/bin/ffmpeg ffmpeg


I'm not 100% sure of the location of the system installed ffmpeg. Use locate ffmpeg to find where it is. It should be something with bin in the name. Put whatever that is instead of /usr/bin/ffmpeg.
Developer of DSub for Android
daneren2005
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:52 pm

Re: Unable to play

Postby syk » Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:54 pm

I created a symbolic link from my non-subsonic ffmpeg version (I didn't see a quantal version in the ppa you provided). It seems to have done the trick for mp3>mp3 however m4a>mp3 still does not work. My guess is the other people having issues are trying to play .m4a and it's a transcoder issue.

For anyone that needs to do what I did:

Code: Select all
sudo mv /var/subsonic/transcode/ffmpeg /var/subsonic/transcode/ffmpeg.bak
sudo ln -s /usr/bin/ffmpeg /var/subsonic/transcode/ffmpeg
syk
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:25 am


Return to DSub for Android

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest