Page 1 of 1

Notice: LAME does not seem to be installed.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:44 pm
by tOaDeR
i am using Ubuntu Hardy Heron. i have LAME installed. its in /usr/bin. why can't subsonic find it there?

the music plays fine, but most of my mp3s have a high bitrate and i only have DSL, so i need to be able to downsample.

thanks in advance for your help.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:01 pm
by jigsaw
It's a security feature:
The top one on 3.6 here: http://subsonic.sourceforge.net/changelog.php

# Security: For improved security, only transcoders installed in SUBSONIC_HOME/transcode are allowed to be executed. This includes LAME downsampling.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:09 pm
by tOaDeR
ok, so how do i downsample in linux if i don't know how to install it in a different directory?

is there a way to point subsonic to the version i have?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 8:10 am
by Clifff
Assuming you installed Subsonic to /var/subsonic this command should do the trick.
Code: Select all
sudo cp /usr/bin/lame /var/subsonic/transcode/

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 2:10 am
by tOaDeR
thank you so much. sorry it took so long, but i was away from home and couldn't apply that. it works great now

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:55 am
by jarim
Clifff wrote:Assuming you installed Subsonic to /var/subsonic this command should do the trick.
Code: Select all
sudo cp /usr/bin/lame /var/subsonic/transcode/


I would prefer:
Code: Select all
ln -s /usr/bin/lame /var/subsonic/transcode/lame