Page 1 of 1

mp3 transcode / downscale on the fly {SOLVED}

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 9:41 pm
by mrjacobrussell
Is there a way to get the server to down-sample mp3s? I know there is a setting to lower the bit rate but when I enable this subsonic fails to convert the MP3. I am running in a jail on xigmanas (formally Nas4Free) and have isntalled lame, ffmpeg and flac aswell as copied to the transcode folder.

Re: mp3 transcode / downscale on the fly

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:39 pm
by toolman
You can try to limit the bitrate in the user settings. (Max bitrate)
This will force Subsonic to downsample to whatever you define here.
So if your mediacollection is 320 Kbps and you set the Max bitrate in the User settings to 128 KBPS, Subsonic will downsample your music to that bitrate for that user.
Since this is a per User setting, you will have to configure this for every user.

Re: mp3 transcode / downscale on the fly

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:53 pm
by mrjacobrussell
If i change that setting to lower the bitrate it fails to downsample and the mp3 I get cant be played on the webplayer or the clinet android app.

Re: mp3 transcode / downscale on the fly

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 8:10 pm
by toolman
The latest version of Subsonic uses ffmpeg version N-78758-g5156578.
Could it be that you are running another version?

Re: mp3 transcode / downscale on the fly

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 8:17 pm
by mrjacobrussell
I have been screwing with this forever, and I guess I am just starting to get good at figuring this stuff out..
I have been really upset this didn't work out of the box considering I have been a subscriber for a few years now. :|

I am running all Linux/Unix systems so no easy setup windows stuff for me.

I just went through the forum again looking for the keywords of lame and ffmpeg.
Finally I found a few posts about converting from flac to wav, then to mp3.

If anyone can see something here that could be fixed or tweaked, please let me know by responding to my post !!

Ive only tried a few file types but so far at least on Xigmanas (BSD) in a jail this is the only way to get down-sampling to work

my server
Version 11.2.0.4 - Omnius (revision 6026)
Compiled Thursday September 20 11:45:43 PDT 2018
Platform OS FreeBSD 11.2-RELEASE-p3 #0 r338829M: Thu Sep 20 17:32:35 CEST 2018

Jail that subsonic is installed in

FreeBSD-amd64-11.1

Name
Code: Select all
MP3down


CONVERT FROM
Code: Select all
mp3


CONVERT TO
Code: Select all
ogg oga aac m4a wav aif aiff ape mpc shn m4a mp3


Step one
Code: Select all
ffmpeg -i %s -map 0:0 -b:a %bk -v 0 -f wav -


Step two
Code: Select all
lame --silent -f -b %b -

Re: mp3 transcode / downscale on the fly {SOLVED}

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:39 am
by toolman
As found in Settings >> Transcoding:
Downsample: ffmpeg -i %s -map 0:0 -b:a %bk -v 0 -f mp3 -

Re: mp3 transcode / downscale on the fly {SOLVED}

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 2:47 pm
by mrjacobrussell
toolman wrote:As found in Settings >> Transcoding:
Downsample: ffmpeg -i %s -map 0:0 -b:a %bk -v 0 -f mp3 -


This doesn't work on my Xigmanas jail of subsonic

I am not sure if its my version of ffmpeg, but the default string doesn't work.


even my m4a setting in the standard trans-code string doesn't work unless I change it to "wav" and add the second step of lame back to mp3.

successful Trans-code and playback

[10/8/18 2:50:55 PM UTC] INFO TranscodeInputStream Starting transcoder: /var/subsonic/transcode/ffmpeg -i /mnt/music/Classical/2CELLOS/2015 Celloverse [Deluxe Edition]/02. I Will Wait.m4a -map 0:0 -b:a 160k -v 0 -f wav -
[10/8/18 2:50:55 PM UTC] INFO TranscodeInputStream Starting transcoder: /var/subsonic/transcode/lame --silent -f -b 160 -


original setting never plays anything.
[10/8/18 2:52:34 PM UTC] INFO TranscodeInputStream Starting transcoder: /var/subsonic/transcode/ffmpeg -i /mnt/music/Classical/2CELLOS/2015 Celloverse [Deluxe Edition]/03. Thunderstruck (Intro).m4a -map 0:0 -b:a 160k -v 0 -f mp3 -

Re: mp3 transcode / downscale on the fly

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:55 pm
by mrjacobrussell
toolman wrote:The latest version of Subsonic uses ffmpeg version N-78758-g5156578.
Could it be that you are running another version?


ffmpeg 4.0.1