android client keeps polling url in background

Need help? Post your questions here.

Moderator: moderators

android client keeps polling url in background

Postby neuron » Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:40 pm

Code: Select all
I/ShufflePlayBuffer( 9052): Refilled shuffle play buffer with 7 songs.
D/RESTMusicService( 9052): Connections in pool: 3
I/RESTMusicService( 9052): Using URL https://192.168.0.100:80/rest/getRandomSongs.view?u=admin&p=enc:4c637874476e37485863444c747a364a567352465f757a5141&v=1.2.0&c=android&size=33
D/RESTMusicService( 9052): Socket read timeout: 60000 ms.



I see that in my log when subsonic is idle, but in the background.
neuron
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:02 pm

Postby neuron » Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:54 pm

I also really dont get how this is meant to work from a user interface point of view.

I get up my content, it says one song with a play button on the top. Clicking that shows the playlist is empty.

Then there's a list view, of items where you can't longpress, and clicking takes you to the web page view. (which by the way works). I have the select all button, which sometimes works and sometimes don't. And there's a play button, which I have yet to get working.


///edit : This has huge potentional, that's why I wanna get it working! And I have already donated as well :). So I'm not just some random guy whining on the forum ;) (well, I am, but I love the product as well)
neuron
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:02 pm

Postby disgustipated » Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:17 pm

where are you seeing this? on the android device?
what android device do you have? mine doesnt look like that at all. this is what mine looks like:

http://imgur.com/UcFRe
disgustipated
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:18 pm
Location: US

Postby neuron » Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:02 am

it's on a nexus one, but the first log is from the system log. So that wouldn't be visible to the end user.

And my issue isn't with the player controls themselfes. It's how you get to them.
neuron
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:02 pm

Postby neuron » Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:11 am

Just realized this task wakes up again on a timer and keeps using memory. This is NOT how your supposed to work when idle.

If you gotta have something running in the background run an AlarmManager. Although in this scenario (backgrounded, and not in use) it should not be doing this.
neuron
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:02 pm

Postby disgustipated » Sat Feb 26, 2011 9:25 pm

how are you monitoring this? I only see that message in my logcat when i first open the app, i let it sit quite a while and also changed the tabs on the bottom from the main screen to the playlist.

what do you have your cache size and songs to preload set to? i only have a 500mb cache and 1 song to preload.

i have unlimited data on my cell plan so i dont mind when it eats up a little 3g data :D

(ive got a nexus one as well and love it as well)
disgustipated
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:18 pm
Location: US

Postby neuron » Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:31 pm

It's logcat yeah. And it keeps comming back as well.

What might have happened is I played random from the front page, and then screwed around with it a bit (switching servers). It might have left something running from that.

I've got cache 3 and preload 500mb, I'm also on unlimited so I haven't toyed with the standards.
neuron
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:02 pm

Postby donpearson » Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:06 pm

Moved to Help.
Facebook Group:
http://www.facebook.com/groups/subsonic.group/

Image
donpearson
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:53 pm
Location: UK

Postby GJ51 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:39 am

Tried a reboot?
Gary J

http://bios-mods.com
http://www.maplegrovepartners.com
http://theaverageguy.tv/category/tagpodcasts/cyberfrontiers/
User avatar
GJ51
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:58 pm
Location: Western New York

Postby neuron » Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:54 pm

rebooting does solve it yes.

If this kind of service gets stuck in the background (which it does), this isn't a help request. It's a bug report.
neuron
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:02 pm

Re: android client keeps polling url in background

Postby acroyear » Wed Apr 17, 2013 2:13 am

Well, it is now April of 2013 and this is still happening. I know this because I have been experimenting writing an alternate REST server that does some virtual file management based on classical music tags (composer - grouping - conductor), and in testing it with the subsonic android client, I get the ping of "getRandomSongs.view" every minute or so.

About the only thing I can think of is it is using it as a key for randomizing the advertisements to me. :)

I can kill it by doing a Force Stop in the tablet's main settings (Samsung Galaxy 2 Tab 7", 4.0.4, most recent Subsonic client). I haven't tried ultrasonic against it to see if it does the same thing.

Joe
--
Joe Shelby
http://subfiresuite.com/
http://subfireplayer.net/
User avatar
acroyear
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:05 pm
Location: Northern, VA

Re: android client keeps polling url in background

Postby disgustipated » Wed Apr 17, 2013 2:34 am

yeah same here, ive noticed that if i have an album queued up and then the orientation changed at some point and/or docked my phone in the car mount that uses the pogo pin contacts it will clear what i had in the queue and then start a random playlist. (android 4.2.2 galaxy nexus now with stock subsonic app from the market). sometimes ill look down and it will just start randomly playing if i had been listening to it earlier. when that happens i clear the queue go to the home tab and then tap men> exit

im really surprised more people dont notice this.
disgustipated
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:18 pm
Location: US

Re: android client keeps polling url in background

Postby acroyear » Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:48 am

The 'random' playing itself might not be. There's a setting that has it respond to the buttons on bluetooth, and related to that is also when headphones are plugged in. It sometimes causes it to start playing when it has a new audio option available (like back in range of a bluetooth headset). I turned that off, 'cause it meant that it was firing even when i was using my bluetooth to control something else.
--
Joe Shelby
http://subfiresuite.com/
http://subfireplayer.net/
User avatar
acroyear
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:05 pm
Location: Northern, VA


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests