Page 1 of 1

Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:31 am
by josquin
Hello there,

Just to let you know that a plugin (VoluSonic) to access Subsonic API (> 1.13.0) capable server from Volumio is now available.

The plugin is in rc state and for now the install have to be done manually.
To do so, enable ssh on your volumio box @ http://yourbox/dev
Then use your favorite cli to log into your box to :
Code: Select all
wget https://github.com/foobarjo/volumio-plugins/raw/master/plugins/music_service/volusonic/volusonic.tgz
tar -xzf volusonic.tgz
cd volusonic
volumio plugin install


You should then be able to activate the plugin and enter your credentials via the GUI.
Discussion thread can be found here, comments are welcome.

Hope you will like it.

Have a nice day
Jo

Re: Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2018 7:33 pm
by zeroth
I looked and tested. I put in my url, credentials but it would not connect. Just kept giving "undefined" pop up in top right when I tried to save and test connection.

Re: Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:54 am
by josquin
What does your url look like? Does it include the port?

Re: Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:02 pm
by zeroth
josquin wrote:What does your url look like? Does it include the port?



Yes. I tried several variations. Is there perhaps a problem from me using https?

Re: Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:07 pm
by josquin
I use https too so it's probably not related. Is your certificate valid?
Are you on the last versions of both Volumio and Subsonic?

Can you show me your url as it is in the settings please ?
On a standart install it should be something like "https://yourAddressOrIP:PORT" ie: "https://foobar.org:4043"

What is the url you usually use to access your server ?

Re: Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 1:36 am
by zeroth
josquin wrote:I use https too so it's probably not related. Is your certificate valid?
Are you on the last versions of both Volumio and Subsonic?

Can you show me your url as it is in the settings please ?
On a standart install it should be something like "https://yourAddressOrIP:PORT" ie: "https://foobar.org:4043"

What is the url you usually use to access your server ?



https://11.84.96.370:4443

Re: Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:05 am
by josquin
I was able to reproduce your issue. It won't work with an invalid ssl certificate, sorry for that.

I disabled the certificate check on the plugin part. You will be able to save your credentials and navigate into the plugin but unfortunatly you wont be able to play anything. It's volumio related and you will either need a valid certificate, letsencrypt can do the job for that you will find posts around talking about that, or disable ssl in subsonic.

Re: Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2018 12:50 pm
by zeroth
josquin wrote:I was able to reproduce your issue. It won't work with an invalid ssl certificate, sorry for that.

I disabled the certificate check on the plugin part. You will be able to save your credentials and navigate into the plugin but unfortunatly you wont be able to play anything. It's volumio related and you will either need a valid certificate, letsencrypt can do the job for that you will find posts around talking about that, or disable ssl in subsonic.



yeah, unfortunately rolling an SSL cert on the win 8 computer hosting Subsonic has proven to be a real pain in the ass. I approached this years ago but never got a satisfactory solution. If you have any resources I'll look at it again.

Re: Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:45 am
by shanec80
gonna have to try and check this out tomorrow! Thanks!

Re: Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:15 pm
by shanec80
appears to connect, I don't see any errors and I see the subsonic log that says player was created, however there's nothing loaded in the GUI aside from the home button, etc.


Currently I'm on 6.1.4, but due to some other issues, I'm going to try rolling back to 6.1.3 and see what happens.

Re: Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 1:40 pm
by josquin
Is your music tagged ?
The plugin is based on ID3 informations, i'm woking an option to use the file based way but it's not yet implemented.

Re: Volusonic, subsonic plugin for Volumio

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 4:54 pm
by josquin
There is now an option to deactivate ID3 and access the music using the standard "file based" mode. Once the plugin updated you will find the switch in the option panel.