Subsonic for Android 3.3.beta1 released

Announcements and discussion of new releases.

Moderator: moderators

Re: Subsonic for Android 3.3.beta1 released

Postby villkatt » Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:38 pm

And now I found the RC-function! It works just as it should. I'm impressed! I'll buy in to Subsonic right now.

Thanks for a very good and user friendly software!
villkatt
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:19 pm

Re: Subsonic for Android 3.3.beta1 released

Postby disgustipated » Fri Nov 09, 2012 9:45 pm

you should be able to tap RC on the nowplaying tab and it will play throrugh jukebox to the server.
disgustipated
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:18 pm
Location: US

Re: Subsonic for Android 3.3.beta1 released

Postby bushman4 » Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:31 pm

Push the RC button in the Android app.

On the Player screen.

HTH,

Glenn
Glenn Sullivan
Subsonic 5.2.1 (Standalone on Apache/Tomcat 6)
WHS 2003, Dual Core Athlon, 4 Gb RAM, 12 TB
50 regular Subsonic Users

Library as of 2016-03-21:
4,034 artists
16,595 albums
182,904 songs
4582.16 GB
21,558 hours
User avatar
bushman4
 
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:47 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Subsonic for Android 3.3.beta1 released

Postby rockportrait » Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:02 pm

Hi Glenn

Just bought your app, and I'm curious about the Remote Control idea.
I tried pressing the RC switch, and the app tells me I'm in Remote Control mode, but my server doesn't do anything at all.
What do I have to do specifically on Subsonic to allow remote control to work?

If it helps any, when I use iSub (for iOS) in this mode, I receive the error "There was an error parsing the Jukebox XML response."

I've gone into Players on the Subsonic server and changed the Jukebox entries in that list to Jukebox mode, but nothing different happens.
rockportrait
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:38 am

Re: Subsonic for Android 3.3.beta1 released

Postby bushman4 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:24 pm

This is not my app, I'm just supplying assistance for free in the user forum.

I would need much more information about how Subsonic is installed on your network to help.

Glenn
Glenn Sullivan
Subsonic 5.2.1 (Standalone on Apache/Tomcat 6)
WHS 2003, Dual Core Athlon, 4 Gb RAM, 12 TB
50 regular Subsonic Users

Library as of 2016-03-21:
4,034 artists
16,595 albums
182,904 songs
4582.16 GB
21,558 hours
User avatar
bushman4
 
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:47 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Subsonic for Android 3.3.beta1 released

Postby Cook66 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:10 pm

This is slightly unreleated to this update, but it possible to assign a different player to be the default jukebox player?

Never in a million years would I use my fileserver to play the actual media, that thing is in my server room and listening to music in there is futile.

I would almost go as far as to say the entire jukebox concept is flawed from the get-go.

Why not have a system similar to jukebox, only on a per user basis? The jukebox concept assumes I only have one media center using Subsonic, why can't each user define their own main media player and use the android app to control that player? That way my sister across the country has a use for this feature, my father in his livingroom upstairs and me in my basement can use it as well, all indendently of each other.

The jukebox is a great idea, but limiting it to the server makes it 100% useless to me.
Cook66
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:23 pm

Re: Subsonic for Android 3.3.beta1 released

Postby bushman4 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:56 pm

The jukebox function was created to use the subsonic server's sound card.

What you are talking about is remote controlling a remote player, which is not possible currently, and would take substantially more work.

Glenn
Glenn Sullivan
Subsonic 5.2.1 (Standalone on Apache/Tomcat 6)
WHS 2003, Dual Core Athlon, 4 Gb RAM, 12 TB
50 regular Subsonic Users

Library as of 2016-03-21:
4,034 artists
16,595 albums
182,904 songs
4582.16 GB
21,558 hours
User avatar
bushman4
 
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:47 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Subsonic for Android 3.3.beta1 released

Postby webvan » Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:16 pm

Finally found the RC control in the Android app, hehe...

Just switched from iOS to Android as my main smartphone (4S got "wet"...and couldn't justify the cost of an iPhone 6) and I was wondering if there was a way to play a song without it getting cached automatically (like in RC mode) or at least only temporarily? Right now when you switch to offline mode you have all the songs that you've played over time and it gets messy I think. I'd prefer to have only the albums/songs that have been pinned manually. Thanks!
webvan
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 3:30 pm

Re: Subsonic for Android 3.3.beta1 released

Postby alphawave7 » Wed Oct 29, 2014 11:41 pm

webvan wrote:Finally found the RC control in the Android app, hehe...

Just switched from iOS to Android as my main smartphone (4S got "wet"...and couldn't justify the cost of an iPhone 6) and I was wondering if there was a way to play a song without it getting cached automatically (like in RC mode) or at least only temporarily? Right now when you switch to offline mode you have all the songs that you've played over time and it gets messy I think. I'd prefer to have only the albums/songs that have been pinned manually. Thanks!


Simply choose a small cache size, eg. 5MB, which should only keep a song or two.
alphawave7
 
Posts: 1041
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:54 am

Re: Subsonic for Android 3.3.beta1 released

Postby webvan » Wed Oct 29, 2014 11:58 pm

And you can still "pin" the albums you want to take with you off-line ?
webvan
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 3:30 pm

Previous

Return to Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests