How to set playlist folder

General discussions.

Moderator: moderators

How to set playlist folder

Postby xaphoo » Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:13 pm

Am I going crazy? In some old versions of Subsonic, I set my playlist folder to e:\Playlists , which subsonic still detects. I want to move my playlists somewhere else now, but I can't find the option any more. I upgraded to the very newest beta of Subsonic, so this option may have accidentally vanished -- or I'm going crazy and it's right in front of my nose.
xaphoo
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:11 pm

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby BKKKPewsey » Fri Aug 24, 2012 12:29 am

4.7 does not use the old playlist folder, playlists are now in the db and are user specific, but you can import any playlist (with varying degrees of success :| )

:mrgreen:
Everyone is entitled to be stupid, Image but some abuse the privilege!

Due to the confusion from too many genres of music, we have decided to put both country music and rap music into the genre of Crap music.
User avatar
BKKKPewsey
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby xaphoo » Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:41 pm

Isn't this a step back? Previously, all my playlists for my music folder were automatically updated in my e:\Playlists folder whenever they would change, and Subsonic would pick them up with its next scan. Now I have to manually add them each time they change? I have dozens of playlists that I fiddle with constantly... that's a lot of labor. If this is how it is, I'm moving back to an older version because easy playlist management was one of the features I most valued about Subsonic.
xaphoo
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:11 pm

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby richardap1 » Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:57 pm

100% agree with this. I have also gone back to V4.6 for that feature too. I have a large collection of playlist made in MusicBee that are written to a folder every time I start MB, this way they are always updated and can be used in Subsonic easily. Seems a shame to to have to manually import them every time time they are updated.
richardap1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:51 pm

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby bushman4 » Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:33 pm

Subsonic made the change to database-stored playlists (i believe) to support individual playlists by user.

I would suggest that the option to either use the old style of folder-based playlists, or, even better, if each user had a setting for their own playlist directory, and this was an additional option, it would be beneficial.

One can only ask... perhaps Sindre will consider your request.

Glenn
Glenn Sullivan
Subsonic 4.7Final (Standalone on Apache/Tomcat 6)
WHS 2003, Dual Core Athlon, 4 Gb RAM, 7.75 TB
50 regular Subsonic Users

Library as of 2013-03-14:
3,623 artists
13,843 albums
154,931 songs
3,697.93 GB
16,330 hours
User avatar
bushman4
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:47 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby mwills » Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:38 pm

i agree - until subsonic can replace my entire music playback experience (ie. passively creating playlists based on rating, play count, etc.), i need the option to specify (or scan) for local .m3u playlists. right now i used subsonic when i'm away from home to stream and iTunes when at home.

i currently have a script to export my iTunes playlists as they change frequently. i like many of the new features in 4.7 but dropping this option seems like a deal breaker for me.
mwills
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby Leo » Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:23 am

Hi,

today i tested the new 4.7.beta3 release. I reconised (by searching in the forum) that the playlist is now maintained
in db instead folders (e.g. /var/playlist). Is that a joke ?

Because i have lots of playlist, which are also used be other programms. db playlist is a k.o. criteria to use the 4.7 release.

I there planed to use a setup switch to change between both (db <-> folders) ?

regards
Leo
Leo
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:24 am

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby Leo » Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:32 am

Hi,

why is there the commandline option in 4.7.beta3

--default-playlist-folder=DIR Configure Subsonic to use this folder for playlists. This option
only has effect the first time Subsonic is started. Default '/var/playlists'

when the playlist is now maintained in db ?

regards
Leo
Leo
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:24 am

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby BKKKPewsey » Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:38 am

I believe that SS will auto-import any playlists found in that folder on startup.
If we could have SS auto-scan that folder (as per media folders) and update/replace/delete those playlists
it would bring back most of the playlist functionality presently lost with the beta.

:mrgreen:
Everyone is entitled to be stupid, Image but some abuse the privilege!

Due to the confusion from too many genres of music, we have decided to put both country music and rap music into the genre of Crap music.
User avatar
BKKKPewsey
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby amels802 » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:34 pm

I had the same exact problem when I tried the 4.7 betas. I like the playlist folder because I access the same playlists on my Squeezebox devices for whole-home audio. I mainly use Subsonic for streaming in the car. I can create/modify playlists in either Subsonic or the Squeezebox interface and they're maintained in a central location. I'll have to stick with 4.6
amels802
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:18 am

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby xaphoo » Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:46 am

Now that 4.7 is out of beta, what's the word on the playlist problems? Is there a way to get Subsonic to recognize my carefully crafted folder full of .m3u files?
xaphoo
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:11 pm

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby GJ51 » Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:54 am

Import?
Gary J

http://bios-mods.com
http://www.maplegrovepartners.com
http://theaverageguy.tv/category/tagpodcasts/cyberfrontiers/
User avatar
GJ51
 
Posts: 3500
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:58 pm
Location: Western New York

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby Leo » Sun Sep 16, 2012 6:47 am

GJ51 wrote:Import?


But whats about export (immediately when i do modikikation on playlists) to playlist folder ?
I do not understand why there was no setup flag to save or modify the used playlistmode (DB or Folder),
because the code for saving into folder was there before (in 4.6)

regards
Leo
Leo
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:24 am

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby dethknite » Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:48 pm

Add me to the list of those requesting previous functionality.. major loss..
dethknite
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 6:17 pm

Re: How to set playlist folder

Postby nunya » Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:45 pm

If it would rescan playlists that would be nice,

I update a lot of my video playlists and some audio playlists regularly but even after a manual rescan the left.view shows old playlists.........

so the workaround is to import?

but once you import it

browser version will show name of updated playlist but will have old number in parentheses next to it or "0" and when you click on it it doesnt show contenets of the playlist

now android app has multiple playlists all with same names but all with different content (not updated with new titles).......

playlist folder location hasnt changed still just has updated playlists....
nunya
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:01 pm

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests