Can Subsonic be run off an external WebHost/Server?

General discussions.

Moderator: moderators

Can Subsonic be run off an external WebHost/Server?

Postby bklyn2cali » Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:50 am

Hi there;
i'm looking to build an online database/catalog of original music that can be hosted online with client access and came across Subsonic.

Looks great, but would i be able to run the program off my webhost/external server (ie. network solutions)?

i am looking for a solution where I can host files online, and access them from any web browser.

thanks!
-
bklyn2cali
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:41 am

Postby psych0munky » Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:00 pm

Your webhost/external server would need to support running Java Web-applications in order for you to be able to run subsonic. As well, all of your music would need to be accessible by the server that subsonic was running on.

A quick look at the following link (http://www.networksolutions.com/web-hos ... on-alt.jsp) tells me you would need the Pro level of hosting from network solutions in order to run subsonic.

If you google for "Java servlet web hosting" you might find something cheaper. The main point is that you need to be able to deploy a .war file.

Additionally, you may have trouble as Subsonic seems to want to keep it's database and other info in places like c:/subsonic or /usr/var/subsonic, and I am not sure if that is changeable.

- Munky
psych0munky
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 5:37 pm

Postby awpti » Thu Jan 15, 2009 6:02 am

A good web host will CHROOT your instance, so you can actually create a /usr/var/subsonic directory and it'll be referenced by the web service(s) correctly.

Perhaps we can make a feature suggestion to have the developer make this an option during initial install instead of it being forced right off?
awpti
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 5:53 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Postby sindre_mehus » Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:11 am

FYI, the Subsonic home is already changeable.

On Linux, modify SUBSONIC_HOME in the subsonic.sh startup script.

On Windows, add the line "-Dsubsonic.home=c:/foo/bar" to c:\Program Files\Subsonic\subsonic-service.exe.vmoptions
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby psych0munky » Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:47 am

Ohh!! Spiffy...you learn something new everyday...maybe I should delve deeper into the docs sometime...hehe?
psych0munky
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 5:37 pm

Postby chasman » Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:59 pm

Has anyone actually done this? I would also like to be able to serve from a webhost.
chasman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:14 pm

Postby awpti » Sun Feb 22, 2009 3:39 am

I run subsonic off my own server at my hosting company..

http://geeklan.com:9080/subsonic/

It's not difficult at all.. don't think it'll work well on a shared host since many of folders it depends on seem to be statically defined (eg; /var/subsonic for the databases)
awpti
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 5:53 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Postby sindre_mehus » Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:00 pm

awpti,

According to WHOIS, your domain is registered at GoDaddy.com. Are they also hosting your server? In that case I'm interested in knowing which hosting/server plan you're using. (I'm planning to set up a public Subsonic demo server).

Thanks in advance,
Sindre
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby awpti » Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:36 am

Sindre,

I'm using a Dedicated Linux server, however it also works on Virtual Dedicated servers.

I'd be happy to host a demonstration version under one of my own domains or a subdomain.

I've got bandwidth and CPU-time to spare.

EDIT: Yes, I host with GD.
awpti
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 5:53 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Postby sindre_mehus » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:23 am

awpti wrote:I'd be happy to host a demonstration version under one of my own domains or a subdomain.

I've got bandwidth and CPU-time to spare.


Thanks for your offer! I actually ordered a Virtual Dedicated server (for 1 month) at GoDaddy yesterday, so I'll try that out first.

If you were to host the demo server, would it be possible to give me SSH access, so that I could administrate the Subsonic installation myself?

Thanks,
Sindre
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby awpti » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:30 am

I actually run PLESK on the server which pretty much precludes managing it via SSH (PLESK has tomcat run the content right out of the WAR file, doesn't even uncompress it).

Not much to manage under that environment.
awpti
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 5:53 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Postby matthew » Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:31 am

Sindre,

If you want i can give you access to my subsonic which i have hosted at http://m.ndsuniverse.com; we can setup a CNAME for your domain; or I can setup a linux OS VPS with root access for you to use.

Thanks,
Matthew.
matthew
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:59 pm
Location: USA - Glendora, Californina

Postby matthew » Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:45 am

username: view
password: view

Anyway let me know if you need it :)
matthew
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:59 pm
Location: USA - Glendora, Californina

Postby sindre_mehus » Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:04 am

Matthew,

Thanks for your very kind offer :D

I've just set up my own public demo server, and I think that works fine for now. We'll see how it works out - I'll get back to you if it doesn't.

Thanks,
Sindre
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby chasman » Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:42 pm

Anyone care to make a step-by-step guide for an idiot like me?
chasman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:14 pm

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests