Subsonic on Windows 7

General discussions.

Moderator: moderators

Subsonic on Windows 7

Postby rasputinschild » Mon Jan 12, 2009 4:52 pm

Has anybody tried yet?
I'll be installing later tonight to see but in case there are horror stories it would be nice to know beforehand.
rasputinschild
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Canda

Postby rasputinschild » Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:31 pm

Well I've had it up and running fine for a few weeks.
Nothing really special to report, much like subsonic on vista.
rasputinschild
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Canda

Postby sindre_mehus » Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:45 pm

Great. Thanks for your report!

Sindre
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Windows 7

Postby koboabe » Thu Jan 29, 2009 7:14 pm

*edit*
fixed my issues... needed to setup port rule in windows firewall
User avatar
koboabe
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:50 pm

Postby cewallace » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:07 am

Did a search for windows 7 but your post did not come up...

How did you route it through the windows firewall? I have to disable it to get to subsonic remotely. I am using build 7000.
cewallace
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:49 am

Postby koboabe » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:24 am

I am running subsonic on windows home server at the moment

I am writing this from memory and will verify when I get home

Control panel>windows firewall
Exceptions and add port
I don't think I added a rule for UDP but you may want to test

Subsonic ran great on windows 7, it was serving 142 gigs with 26k files
I will check later but lemme know if you have trouble
1,056 artists
1,897 albums
24,865 songs
136.60 GB (~ 2,121 hours)
User avatar
koboabe
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:50 pm

Postby rasputinschild » Wed May 13, 2009 2:15 pm

Cewallace,
I use a hardware firewall (Most home routers have them too) so I turn the software firewall right off. I find it's too cumbersome for networking.
I set a static IP on my server and then created a port forward in the firewall.
rasputinschild
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:18 pm
Location: Canda

Postby ichthys » Fri Jun 26, 2009 6:59 pm

I think there is a problem with the service agent monitor that requires it to be run as admin on windows 7 if you want to be able to change settings (port, mem limit, etc). I will investigate this more.
ichthys
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 6:53 pm

Postby ichthys » Sat Jun 27, 2009 6:22 pm

Yep I can confirm that the agent (unless run as administrator or windows xp compatibility mode) is not able to modify the service.

Service is running great though! Windows firewall settings were added automatically.


3.7 (build 898) – June 15, 2009
jetty-6.1.x, java 1.6.0_14, Windows 7 (16.5 MB / 19.2 MB)
ichthys
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 6:53 pm

Postby smithdavid4321 » Thu Nov 19, 2009 5:21 am

I am also new in Windows 7 but After installing Windows 7 first I install Subsonic and it works smoother on Windows 7. So there will be no problem just install it.
smithdavid4321
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:42 am

Postby BrianDelShasta » Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:36 am

For what its worth, Windows7 seems to handle embedded jetty better and is the first version of windows to not throttle the bandwidth.
BrianDelShasta
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:45 am
Location: USA


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests