What is the deal between subsonic and blankdvdrw.com?

General discussions.

Moderator: moderators

What is the deal between subsonic and blankdvdrw.com?

Postby mrbones » Sun Nov 15, 2015 9:27 am


I started using Subsonic on my Linux server. Subsonic is working just fine but while using tcpdump I detected some suspicious requests being originated from the server:

Code: Select all
15:43:01.572530 IP <HOSTNAME>.39211 > wordpress.blankdvdrw.com.http: Flags [P.], seq 1:137, ack 1, win 229, options [nop,nop,TS val 61927181 ecr 1589361007], length 136: HTTP: GET /backend/version.view?v=5.3 HTTP/1.1

the URL (/backend/version.view?v=5.3) clearly indicates that is related to Subsonic and anything like "blankdvdrw.com" looks fishy to me.

I was looking for some information on the host and I found few complaints related to it:

http://myip.ms/info/search/1/stxt/wordp ... w_com.html
http://myip.ms/info/whois/ ... bsonic.org

subsonic.org uses blankdvdrw.com as a top level host.

But as tcpdump showed me that GET request request was done from the server (while the server was running subsonic). Can anyone help me in understanding what is going on?
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 9:15 am

Re: What is the deal between subsonic and blankdvdrw.com?

Postby mrfloppy » Mon Nov 16, 2015 8:33 am

It's just the version check for your subsonic installation.

You can disable this option under personalSettings.view
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 10:12 am

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests