Playlist changes too soon

General discussions.

Moderator: moderators

Playlist changes too soon

Postby doNascimento » Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:28 pm

Hi.

I don't if this is an app error or with my computer only.
When I run a playlist, the "Now playing" window, changes too fast.
Right after starting to play the first song in the list, "now playing" changes to the next one etc

Any hints?
doNascimento
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:12 pm

Postby coco » Tue Nov 28, 2006 8:38 am

yes....i seen that issue also.

("now playing" should be to what the music engine actually stream)
coco
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 6:15 pm

Postby sindre_mehus » Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:58 am

Hi,

"Now Playing" does show what is currently being streamed. However, that is not necessarily the same as what's coming out of the loudspeakers, since the players normally buffer some data. In many players (such as Winamp), you can configure the amount of data to buffer.

Cheers,
Sindre
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby doNascimento » Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:31 pm

OK.

So if I set the buffer size to 0, it should work? Or is it not that easy?
doNascimento
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:12 pm

Postby sindre_mehus » Tue Nov 28, 2006 3:29 pm

I recommend setting it to 128KB, for instance. If you experience glitches you should increase it.

Sindre
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby ProBlazer » Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:38 pm

im having the same problem, but im not sure if it has to do with the buffer. I stream radio programs, in mp3 format, to WMP on my office PC. Each segment is about 20-30 minutes long. I will notice that when im about 15 minutes into the first segment that the now playing show's that it is streaming segment 2. If I keep listening it starts getting even further ahead, to the point where I will just be starting segment 3 and it already say's that it is well into segment 4, which could be 40 minutes of buffered content.

Is what I'm seeing have to do with the buffer? or something else
ProBlazer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 8:34 pm

Postby sindre_mehus » Fri Dec 15, 2006 7:10 am

Probably, although I'm a bit surprised that WMP buffers that much. If you look at the "Status" page, you'll see how much data WMP is pulling over. Compare this to the nominal bandwidth of your MP3's.

Sindre
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

VLC media player

Postby kdid » Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:30 am

The VLC media player do not seems to buffer that much.

Although I have not found a place to configure how much it is allowed to buffer. Do anybody know where to configure that?

I use the portable apps version. (www.portableapps.com)
-- kdid
kdid
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:17 am


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests