subsonic skips to next track before it should

General discussions.

Moderator: moderators

subsonic skips to next track before it should

Postby coco » Fri Dec 01, 2006 9:36 pm

yes... i seen http://forum.subsonic.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=213

i open a new folder, selected play all, and saw that subsonic simply skips some tracks. (ie fast jumps tracks in sequence until it settles down on track 5)

all tracks was >5minutes long, the foobar http/play cache is only 32k/1000ms long, it can't be that...

besides the first track continue to play nicely (but all tracks in between the first and the fourth is skipped when next track goes playing. (no repeat selected) by now the subsonic thinks it streams track #8....

can't the subsonic player view "simply" check directly in the "streaming" engine what track really is played right now???? (now it's feeling like it's a wish list the view tries to make....and fails!)





subsonic build 371
java 1.6 rc
foobar2000 0.9.4.1

(not controlling the player)
coco
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 6:15 pm

I had similar experience

Postby kdid » Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:43 am

I also had a similar experience some weeks ago. Sometimes some songs will not play at all. I do not fully remember what the problem was. But I belive it has to do with using transcoding. I had transcoding active and was transcoding to 320 kbit/sek mp3. I had some flac encoded music and was testing transcoding.

What I do belive was my problem is that low bitrate mp3's was attempted upscaled to 320 kbit/sek and somewhere it did fail, bit only for some tracks.

You might try without setting any limit and without using transcoding and see if your problem goes away. If it does, we probably should try to figure out a reproducable case in case it is fixable.
-- kdid
kdid
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:17 am

I was able to reproduce it.

Postby kdid » Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:24 pm

I have a mp3 file here which is 320 kbit/sek that if I play it without any bitrate limit do fails to play. I am able to get it to play if I select the bitrate to a low enough value. It will not play if I select 320 kbit/sec.

Some of the songs that follows in the playlist will be skipped aswell when this problem occures.

However, if I click on the seng directly following the song that gives the problem, then it will play without a problem.

Looks like it could be that the stream sent to the player is beeing messed up somehow by the problematic song, and then the following songs isn't recognized byt the player after that.
-- kdid
kdid
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:17 am


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests