gpu accelerated video transcoding?

General discussions.

Moderator: moderators

gpu accelerated video transcoding?

Postby calvintml » Sun Mar 06, 2011 1:12 am

Is it possible to use gpu accelerated transcoding software like "Badaboom" for nvidia cards and "ATI avivo" for ati cards to save cpu cycles? It seems like the new version of Badaboom now has a command line interface...
calvintml
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:17 am

Postby privatesam » Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:37 am

Calvinhtml,

I did some reading on this yesterday and have become very interested in the idea mainly because I can't get smooth video to play on Subsonic remotely. I'm pretty sure this is down the transcoding requirements - I have excellent upload speeds but I think the demands of transcoding adds to the endless buffering.

People using Badaboom for video converting are reporting speeds of 4-8times faster transcoding. Also the new Badaboom 2.0 is out which supports command line. My reading also suggests that Badaboom actually uses ffmpeg as part of the package. The only problems it would seem to me is that its an expensive software meaning little to no support from more capable members of the subsonic community and it is very resticted by Nvidia.

I have downloaded the trial which I don't think will let me carry out full testing and I've yet to ascertain whether Badaboom and Subsonic will work together for Badaboom to transcode on the fly then output to subsonic. Also I can't see whether Badaboom transcodes to flv. It does transcode to mp4 which I know JWPlayer can deal with so maybe this is an option.

Like I said though, my knowledge and ability is rudimentary, unless yourself or a very capable member of the community can help I fear this interesting and exciting possibility won't go much further.

I will however post the commands and the results of my fiddling in this thread going forward.
privatesam
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:09 am

Postby calvintml » Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:06 pm

Privatesam,

Thanks for looking into this. Another thought I had was to ask the people who make Badaboom to look into this for us. I'm not sure if it offers them much of an advantage to be able to say "Compatible with Subsonic," but who knows, they might be interested.

Otherwise, I'm in the same boat, I'm not knowledgable about the requirements for either subsonic transcoding or badaboom, so I don't think I'll be too helpful, sorry.
calvintml
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:17 am

Postby admiral_k » Thu Mar 17, 2011 12:21 pm

calvintml wrote:Otherwise, I'm in the same boat, I'm not knowledgable about the requirements for either subsonic transcoding or badaboom, so I don't think I'll be too helpful, sorry.


I'd second this request - but after some re-searching i found that it seems there are only two freeware encoders out that currently support CuDA, which are MediaCoder and FreeMake Video Converter.

None of those supports CLI control, so i doubt that those are usable for SubSonic.

If anyone has any other news, let me know - i'd really be interested in GPU accellerated Video transcoding, as my Subsonic is running on a pretty low-spec Atom Board, but i can integrate a nVidia GPU in there.

Let's see, what we can get out of the video function of Subsonic - it's really an amazing tool!

Best regards,
Klaas.[/url]
admiral_k
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:23 am

Postby privatesam » Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:54 pm

Done a lot of reading and messing around with this over the last few days. Here are some of my findings:

Badaboom - couldn't get the thing to work with or without CUDA glp transcoding and I'm certainly not paying for it. Think this is probably a lost cause certainly for this release - maybe if users over at their forums mod and play with it there could be a chance.

MediaCoder - does support some CLI from what I've seen but not on CUDA. Seems like a buggy and unreliable software anyway and I couldn't get it to work nicely.

Coreavc - doesn't seem to do transcoding but is fast, reliable, supports CUDA. Not free though. Wonder if there's a way of using it even though its a decoder only.

Can't actually find any other transcoders paid or free that support CUDA and have cli - anyone else?
privatesam
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:09 am


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests