PC always on...really?

General discussions.

Moderator: moderators

PC always on...really?

Postby Knight » Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:24 am

Hi, I have a router (Asus RT-N56U) with two USB and I was wondering if there is a way to use subsonic without keeping the PC (with the Subsonic server program) always turned on. Having the HD connected directly to the router is a nice feature but in the end looks like that with subsonic is quite useless...so is the a way to make the client on the phone read the folders and play the songs directly via router and with the PC off?

Thanks!
Knight
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:20 am

Indeed really!

Postby achoo5000 » Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:22 pm

It is quite necessary to have some PC running that actually holds the music files and can transfer them to whatever device you want to listen on.

I looked at your router model, I see that it can store files and serve them with the built in router software, but it won't actually be able to serve using subsonic unless you could install the subsonic software on the router.

This indeed could be possible using hacked firmware like DD-WRT, but I looked at the site and it seems like this router isn't supported yet.

So while technically feasible on your router, someone will need to do the hard work to make it so you can install DD-WRT firmware on the device, then you might be able to run subsonic on it.
achoo5000
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:47 pm
Location: USA

Postby Knight » Sun Apr 03, 2011 4:17 pm

Thank you! Very clear answer.
Knight
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:20 am

Postby StrawDragon » Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:00 pm

Assuming the router would be possible to serve the stream and server since it is java based. Probably not feasible.

You will just need some kind of PC on 24/7. It is really not that expensive to do so. Personally I have 3 different NAS servers running for a total of 30TB of storage with Subsonic on one of them. With linking to other nas servers shares.
4,219 artists
1,609 albums
45,269 songs
6912.30 GB
StrawDragon
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:52 pm

Postby GJ51 » Thu Apr 07, 2011 5:41 pm

You can also set up a server that sleeps if you implement Wake on WAN. I do this with my WHS that uses Lights out. The server shuts down after 5 min if no workstation is active internally, and restarts whenever someone logs on. I also can fire it up with the Lifghts out Wake on WAN option when I'm on the road.
Gary J

http://bios-mods.com
http://www.maplegrovepartners.com
http://theaverageguy.tv/category/tagpodcasts/cyberfrontiers/
User avatar
GJ51
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:58 pm
Location: Western New York


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests