[How To] Run Subsonic on RAMDisk in Windows 7 / SSD

Tutorials, tips and tricks.

Moderator: moderators

[How To] Run Subsonic on RAMDisk in Windows 7 / SSD

Postby meanaverage » Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:22 am

This is my first post, so I'm going to try to make it a helpful one.

Sindre, if you see this, thank you so much for your continued work on Subsonic. I've been using it for about 2 years and I love it. I have indeed donated and plan to again sometime soon.

[How to Run Subsonic on RAMDisk in Windows]

This guide assumes you don't need "step-by-step" hand holding for simple tasks. You're a subsonic user, I assume you're somewhat tech savvy.

1. Install the latest standalone windows Subsonic package. If you already have a subsonic server running, that's fine.

2. Install DataRam RAMDisk (or preferred program). It's freeware up to 2GB. http://memory.dataram.com/products-and-services/software/ramdisk#download-ramdisk

3. Create a 2GB RamDisk.
You don't need that much for Subsonic unless you have 50TB of files getting indexed, but while you're installing a RAMDisk you should take advantage and move the Windows TEMP/TMP files and other things to it through variables and regedit. I'm not going to cover that here. Google.

4. Format the disk as NTFS through Windows Disk Management.

5. Assign it a drive letter. I chose R:\ (and volume labeled it RAMMY) :D

6. Stop the subsonic service if it's running.

7. Copy your c:\subsonic folder to r:\subsonic

8. Open subsonic-service.exe.vmoptions from c:\program files (x86)\subsonic\ [64-bit OS] or c:\program files\subsonic\ [32-bit OS] in a text editor.

9. Add the following line to this file on the next blank line if you made your RAMDisk your R drive:
-Dsubsonic.home=r:\subsonic

10. Save and close the file.

11. Restart the subsonic service.

12. Make sure you set DataRam RAMDisk to save your ramdisk to your hard drive upon shutdown and load it upon boot-up*
*I recommend disabling the AutoSave feature in DataRam RAMDisk, especially if you are saving to an SSD.

There are a couple great reasons to run Subsonic from a RAMDisk:
1. Logfile writes don't slop up your SSD.

2. It's faster than your SSD. I have 4x Vertex 2 in RAID0 on an LSI SAS RAID controller and my RAM is still faster.

3. Subsonic will be more responsive when supplying you with search results and indexing. Lightning fast, actually.

4. 12GB of quality RAM is only about $250 on Amazon.

If you have any questions or need any assistance, please reply to this thread so if suggestions are made they can help others as well who may have the same questions.
meanaverage
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:49 pm

Postby fonsoy » Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:05 pm

This is a good idea. I am going to use this. Thank you for this information.
fonsoy
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:07 pm

Great idea

Postby JMilesT » Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:03 am

I've been using this method for a while, and it works very well.

I recommend this for a sticky.
JMilesT
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:54 am

Postby Qbix » Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:28 am

OMFG!!!!

I even performed the installation of subsonic on the Ramdisk and indeed it's lightning fast!!! Damn...this is what I needed..a great performance boost!

Thanks for this great tutorial...a lot more comes to mind where I can use this for! Thanks again!
Cheers,
Image
------------------
14.985 artiesten
10.798 albums
90.526 nummers
822,06 GB (~ 12.770 uur)
------------------------------
Qbix
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Netherlands

Postby Qbix » Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:34 am

Something what pops to mind:

Is it possible to change the default (temp) transcoding folder of Subsonic, so it will use the Ramdisk to transcode music and video? This way the transcoding will be done a lot faster I think... :lol:
Cheers,
Image
------------------
14.985 artiesten
10.798 albums
90.526 nummers
822,06 GB (~ 12.770 uur)
------------------------------
Qbix
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: [How To] Run Subsonic on RAMDisk in Windows 7 / SSD

Postby fonsoy » Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:29 pm

Kick.

A recommendation for everyone with enough memory, this knowledge can't be lost in the masses of other topics.
fonsoy
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:07 pm

Re: [How To] Run Subsonic on RAMDisk in Windows 7 / SSD

Postby alphawave7 » Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:30 am

fonsoy wrote:Kick.

A recommendation for everyone with enough memory, this knowledge can't be lost in the masses of other topics.


LOL! You're right...I recently had to re-install on a new puter, and had to search for this thread. Stickied now! 8)
alphawave7
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:54 am

Re: [How To] Run Subsonic on RAMDisk in Windows 7 / SSD

Postby el aye » Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:11 pm

What kind of performance increase do you guys see doing this in real world usage?
el aye
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:31 pm

Re: [How To] Run Subsonic on RAMDisk in Windows 7 / SSD

Postby MadEvil » Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:00 pm

Madsonic Developer
User avatar
MadEvil
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: [How To] Run Subsonic on RAMDisk in Windows 7 / SSD

Postby KiljoyMcCoy » Sun Apr 23, 2017 12:04 pm

Easier and faster way is to use symlinks.
copy C:subsonic to ramdrive delete c:subsonic and create a symlink junction to C: done
KiljoyMcCoy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 12:01 pm


Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests