Make the flash player default?

Got an idea? Missing something? Post your feature request here.

Moderator: moderators

Make the flash player default?

Postby thatmikeykid » Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:32 am

Hi there. First off, thanks for the amazing software. Keeps me sane at work.

Now, on to the question. I almost exclusively use the flash player, as I'm usually using subsonic at work and it's easier that way.

It annoys me, however, that each time that use the "play all" icon for say, an entire album, that I am prompted to open the stream with a media player. I can't be the only person using the flash player a majority of the time, and a simple toggle option in the settings to pick the default play method would be great.

thanks!
thatmikeykid
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:28 am

Agreed

Postby atice » Tue Mar 18, 2008 4:21 pm

I second this request. I also access Subsonic from work and rely on the Web Player exclusively.

If somebody can point me in the right direction (i.e. which class/jar), I'll attempt to make the change myself.
atice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:33 am

Postby rodm13 » Fri Apr 11, 2008 4:36 pm

same here, especially so as the firewall where I work blocks incoming streams. If you could set it so certain users defaulted to the flash player, that would be awesome
rodm13
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:01 pm

Postby adoleo » Mon May 05, 2008 3:43 am

I too would love to see this feature. Any idea if it's close to being implemented?
adoleo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:16 am

Postby sindre_mehus » Mon May 05, 2008 7:35 pm

Yeah, I think this makes sense. Unless it turns out to be too complex (which I doubt) I will implement this in version 3.5. I guess a per-user option "Always use web player" will be good enough.

Sindre
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby supra92 » Mon May 26, 2008 10:54 pm

Hi Sindre,

Just wanted to toss in another note of support for having the "Always Use Web Player" on a per-user-basis feature implemented for 3.5. Like the others on this thread, I use Subsonic at my office behind a firewall, and rely exclusively on the web Flash player. But having it always default to opening up an instance of WinAmp every time I click the Play button next to a song gets old pretty fast :-)

Love Subsonic, have used it for eons now, and am looking forward to this feature in 3.5.

Cheers from Austin, TX!
Supra92
User avatar
supra92
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:17 am
Location: Central Texas

awesome.

Postby thatmikeykid » Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:59 pm

Thanks for implementing this, works like a charm!
thatmikeykid
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:28 am

Postby djiest » Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:41 pm

Works perfectly, but I seem to be missing the 'detach webplayer' option
djiest
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 2:25 pm

Postby supra92 » Fri Jul 11, 2008 6:19 am

Sindre -- *thank you* so much!! This "Always Use Web Player" option works perfectly and is exactly what I've been hoping for for so long. The web player is all I can use at the office behind the firewall (without seriously mucking with Winamp), and besides i never liked how a new Winamp took forever to spawn every time i clicked to listen to a new song.

Now it all works perfectly and smoothly with the web player --- no delays, no Winamp launches.... just a perfect listening experience.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Supra92
User avatar
supra92
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:17 am
Location: Central Texas

:?: Where of where

Postby Dramus » Thu Nov 06, 2008 8:34 pm

sindre_mehus wrote:I guess a per-user option "Always use web player" will be good enough.

Sindre


On which screen in 3.5b2 can I find this? :?:
Dramus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 8:26 pm

Postby sindre_mehus » Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:13 pm

Settings > Personal
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re:

Postby howcan » Tue Oct 16, 2012 4:40 am

djiest wrote:Works perfectly, but I seem to be missing the 'detach webplayer' option. Check here, they have a video explaining.


Hello,

I am also missing the detach webplayer option. Did you figure out how to get it back?
howcan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 4:35 am

Re: Re:

Postby fredde » Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:11 pm

howcan wrote:
djiest wrote:Works perfectly, but I seem to be missing the 'detach webplayer' option. Check here, they have a video explaining.


Hello,

I am also missing the detach webplayer option. Did you figure out how to get it back?


That is a great question, too bad it has not been answered yet but I hope that it will.
fredde
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:09 pm


Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests