Using the Subsonic Mobile Player [OLD]

Tutorials, tips and tricks.

Moderator: moderators

Using the Subsonic Mobile Player [OLD]

Postby sindre_mehus » Sun Jul 06, 2008 10:16 am

Subsonic 3.5 and later includes a player which you can install on Java-enabled mobile phones and PDA's.

Requirements
The mobile phone must support the following Java specifications. (Most modern phones support this.)

Installation
Download the player by visiting the WAP pages of your Subsonic server (typically something like http://yourhostname/subsonic/wap). Then select "Download player" and follow the instructions.

Feedback
Note that the streaming quality will depend on a number of factors, including the mobile phone and the network operator. To help the Subsonic project, please report your experiences by replying to this topic. Please remember to specify at least mobile phone, network operator and country. Thanks!
Last edited by sindre_mehus on Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:26 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby sindre_mehus » Sun Jul 06, 2008 10:31 am

Phone: Sony Ericsson K610i
Network operator: Telenor
Service provider: Telenor
Country: Norway
Subsonic version: 3.5.beta1

Seems like Telenor's proxy retrieves the entire mp3 file before relaying it to the phone, thus causing a long delay before it starts playing. I see this by looking at the Status page in the Subsonic web interface while streaming to the phone. First when the status page indicates that the entire file is transmitted, the data starts arriving at the phone.
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby crisbtreets » Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:44 am

Phone: AT&T Tilt
Service Provider: AT&T
Country: USA (Boston)
Subsonic: 3.5.beta1

The installation doesn't work. The Tilt uses Esmertec Jbed for its Java VM. I get the following error when clicking the download and the installation begins:

"Subsonic cannot be found in local install folder. -77"

It seems that the jar file is never downloaded. I tried manually installing "subsonic-jme-player-3.5.beta1.jar" but it failed and said that the "MIDlet-Name" was missing.

I have since tried creating a JAD file and changing the JAR_URL attribute to subsonic-jme-player-3.5.beta1.jar. It is now saying that the jar file "appears to be corrupt. - 36"
crisbtreets
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Postby todd » Tue Jul 08, 2008 7:18 pm

Phone: BlackBerry Curve
Service Provider: Verizon Wireless
Country: USA (Houston)
Subsonic: 3.5.beta1

Install via WAP links works great, i watch via the status page, it downloads data and then just drops off after what appears to be the whole song loading.

The player then disappears from status page and about 15 seconds later i get the following on my device:

Error
Exception - Error: 6
todd
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 10:42 am

Postby arricc » Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:06 am

Phone: Nokia N95
Network operator: T-Mobile
Country: UK
Subsonic version: 3.5.beta1

Can browse playlist etc, but nothing happens when I try and play - just sits connecting.

Phone: Blackberry 8120
Network operator: O2
Country: UK
Subsonic version: 3.5.beta1

When I try and play I get the usual blackberry security prompt, but its trying to connect to my servers internal IP Address - its behind a NAT firewall, and Subsonic is being accessed via ProxyPass/ProxyPassReverse on an Apache2 webserver on the same machine - this works fine for the web player.
arricc
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:58 am

Postby samotano » Mon Jul 28, 2008 5:05 am

Phone: BlackBerry 8100 & BlackBerry 8800
Network operator: Rogers
Country: Canada
Subsonic version: 3.5.beta1

Same as arricc: can download player, browse, select but nothing happens when I hit play.
samotano
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:31 pm

Postby tessem » Tue Aug 12, 2008 8:23 pm

Phone: HTC S710
Network operator: Telenor
Service provider: Telenor
Country: Norway
Subsonic version: 3.5.beta1

The S710 uses Esmertec Java Jeodek, midp2.0/lockstream

Installs ok, lists folders and music ok, but when clicking Play, I get the message
Code: Select all
MediaException - type: unsupported


:(
tessem
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 8:18 pm

Postby eivindcom » Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:54 am

Phone: Sony Ericsson C702
Network operator: Netcom
Service provider: Tele2
Country: Norway
Subsonic version: 3.5.beta1

Works when playing single songs.
If i try to select [Play All] i get NullPointerException - null

But this is fantastic though! i just wish i had a wifi enabled phone. With 3G i will cost about 50 Kr (10$ pr song to stream it) :)

Eivind
eivindcom
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:50 am

Postby csoldfield » Sun Sep 14, 2008 7:18 am

Results posted on another thread, but here also:-
Backberry Curve (8300)
AT&T (USA)

Artists list shows only 2 or 3 entries (have hundreds) eg
Select Index:
A
XYZ

Select XYZ -> The Zoo

Select -> "RuntimeException - Invalid path: c:/music/the zoo"

I have my music library on my M:\ drive, and have my Settings/Music Folders = M:\Music\My Music

thanks, Clive
Clive
csoldfield
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:22 pm
Location: USA

Postby thinktwo » Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:05 pm

Phone: Nokia N95 8GB
Network operator: Telenor
Service provider: Telenor
Country: Norway
Subsonic version: 3.5.beta1

Can connect and browse the library, but when trying to play a song it buffers the whole song and then just stops buffering without playing anything.
thinktwo
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 10:44 pm

Postby todd » Tue Sep 23, 2008 4:39 pm

csoldfield wrote:Results posted on another thread, but here also:-
Backberry Curve (8300)
AT&T (USA)

Artists list shows only 2 or 3 entries (have hundreds) eg
Select Index:
A
XYZ

Select XYZ -> The Zoo

Select -> "RuntimeException - Invalid path: c:/music/the zoo"

I have my music library on my M:\ drive, and have my Settings/Music Folders = M:\Music\My Music

thanks, Clive


You need to go into the settings of the app and turn off Mock mode, exit the player and enter it again and it will connect to your server.
todd
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 10:42 am

Postby sindre_mehus » Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:40 am

Well, seems that the 3.5.beta1 version was not a big success :-)

However, at least on my setup it works a lot better in 3.5.beta2. I've created a new topic here. Please post your findings there.

Remember to upgrade both the Subsonic server and the Subsonic mobile player!

Take care,
Sindre
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway


Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests