Bind application to a specific IP on the machine

Got an idea? Missing something? Post your feature request here.

Moderator: moderators

Bind application to a specific IP on the machine

Postby datdamnzotz » Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:00 pm

First,

Wonderful software. Far better than anything else I have seen on the net.

I do have a feature request if is poissible with out recoding tons.

It would be nice to be able to bind the application to a IP along with the port.

Thanks in advance :]]
User avatar
datdamnzotz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:34 pm

Postby sindre_mehus » Fri Apr 17, 2009 5:32 am

Just curious: why do you wanna do that?

By default, I think Subsonic binds to 0.0.0.0 (all interfaces).
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby datdamnzotz » Sun Apr 19, 2009 1:22 am

I have a webserver sitting on 80, 8080 and I would like to publish it through my firewall on a normal 80 port.

The server does multiple things and I would like to stick it on it's own ip/port instead of loosing the bind port across all 8 ip's on the box.
User avatar
datdamnzotz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:34 pm

Postby sindre_mehus » Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:16 am

Ah, I see.

Well, it's currently not possible to specify the host (without modifying the source and recompiling). Unless you're using the Tomcat version, of course.

I'll strongly consider to add this as an option in 3.7.

Thanks,
Sindre
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby sindre_mehus » Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:05 pm

Implemented in 3.7 :)
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Postby datdamnzotz » Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:19 pm

Wow.

That was fast :]

Thanks.
User avatar
datdamnzotz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:34 pm

Re: Bind application to a specific IP on the machine

Postby cds1 » Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:39 pm

How is this done in Jetty. I'd like to bind Subsonic to a specific IP so I don't have to use non-standard http ports, or port forward.
cds1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:37 pm

Re: Bind application to a specific IP on the machine

Postby sindre_mehus » Sun Aug 21, 2011 6:17 pm

You can specify -Dsubsonic.host=<your ip> in c:/programfiles/subsonic/subsonic-service.exe.vmoptions.
Subsonic developer
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Bind application to a specific IP on the machine

Postby cds1 » Mon Aug 22, 2011 3:13 pm

How is this is done in Linux?
cds1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:37 pm

Re: Bind application to a specific IP on the machine

Postby sindre_mehus » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:21 pm

Please see the documentation in /etc/default/subsonic or /etc/sysconfig/subsonic.

Cheers,
Sindre
Subsonic developer
User avatar
sindre_mehus
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway


Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest