FLAC transcode question

Need help? Post your questions here.

Moderator: moderators

FLAC transcode question

Postby ecd1973 » Fri Apr 27, 2018 8:48 pm

Here is my situation and what I'm trying to accomplish:

In the android app I am set to Unlimited when streaming over WiFi and 128Kps when on mobile to save data. I want Subsonic to send untouched FLAC files when on WiFi, and when I try to play the same FLAC file on mobile data, I want 128K mp3 sent.

Right now, I get 320k mp3 even on WiFi when playing FLAC files. Mobile data does what it should, sending 128k. Is there any way to get "Unlimited" to be truly Unlimited?
ecd1973
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 12:29 am

Re: FLAC transcode question

Postby toolman » Sat Apr 28, 2018 12:34 am

Define under Settings>>Players 2 players.
Player 1 playername Wifi , Max. Bitrate: No limit, Unmark Active transcodings mp3 audio.
This player will play your files without any transcoding so there'll be no downsampling.
Player 2 playername Mobile , Max. Bitrate: 128Kbps, Mark Active transcodings mp3 audio.
This player will transcode and downsample your files to MP3 128Kbps.
Now you can choose to select the player you'll need at that moment or you can create 2 users and assign each account it's own player with the settings described above.
toolman
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 4:18 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: FLAC transcode question

Postby ecd1973 » Sat Apr 28, 2018 2:26 am

toolman wrote:Define under Settings>>Players 2 players.
Player 1 playername Wifi , Max. Bitrate: No limit, Unmark Active transcodings mp3 audio.
This player will play your files without any transcoding so there'll be no downsampling.
Player 2 playername Mobile , Max. Bitrate: 128Kbps, Mark Active transcodings mp3 audio.
This player will transcode and downsample your files to MP3 128Kbps.
Now you can choose to select the player you'll need at that moment or you can create 2 users and assign each account it's own player with the settings described above.



I see what you are going for here. How would I switch between two "players" within the Subsonic Android client?
ecd1973
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 12:29 am

Re: FLAC transcode question

Postby toolman » Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:24 am

Hi,
I never used the Subsonic Android player so I have no clue if that is even possible.
You could always go for option 2 being 2 different accounts with different players to suit your needs.
toolman
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 4:18 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: FLAC transcode question

Postby grant420 » Fri May 11, 2018 6:45 pm

I have this exact setup for the reasons you describe on my iPhone and use it to control my bluetooth car audio (this Player is configured to only send at max bitrate of 192kbps) and at home to control home audio at higher fidelity (this Player has no max bitrate), so my FLACs get "transcoded" to WAV at home; and to 192kbps mp3s while on the road.
Anyway, I just click the Settings icon in the phone app to switch between one Server when in the house on wi-fi and the other when I'm on the road and connected to LTE only. Does the Droid app not support this?
grant420
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 8:07 pm

Re: FLAC transcode question

Postby ecd1973 » Thu May 17, 2018 10:14 pm

Been using the two user setup for a while and it serves the purpose I need. I was hoping there was a way to do it without switching (sometimes I forget to pick mobile user when I get in the car) so I dont accidentally stream 40 mb FLAC files over my 4g mobile connection but it will do.

Thanks everyone for your help.
ecd1973
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 12:29 am


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests