roon bridge + streaming

General discussions.

Moderator: moderators

roon bridge + streaming

Postby lenovomi » Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:55 pm

Dear,
I was wondering if following scenario is possible with your product, ie

if i install subsonic server and on that machine i will install roon bridge (https://kb.roonlabs.com/Software_packages) is it possible to "consume" sound stream from roon bridge and stream it via subsonic ecosystem?\


thanks!
lenovomi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:53 pm

Re: roon bridge + streaming

Postby acroyear » Fri Jan 31, 2020 12:48 pm

I don't think so. As a totally commercial product, their code and their protocols are proprietary.
--
Joe Shelby
http://subfiresuite.com/
http://subfireplayer.net/
User avatar
acroyear
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:05 pm
Location: Northern, VA

Re: roon bridge + streaming

Postby lenovomi » Fri Jan 31, 2020 12:54 pm

well, I assume as their roon bridge outputs signal to alsa or other linux sound device ... so it might be related to the linux sound device -> subsonic ... i dont see any connection with their code.

Question is if subsonic can trap / consume sound signal from linux sound device and stream it via its own core.
lenovomi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:53 pm

Re: roon bridge + streaming

Postby acroyear » Wed Feb 05, 2020 3:08 am

There are 'sound server' systems for linux - i can't say what's best, and many pages you'll find on google are very old and probably out of date. these will take a linux audio stream and turn it into a network stream. From there, just add the network url to your Subsonic server as an "Internet Radio" station.

However, not all subsonic clients provide access to the internet radio services. SubFire (my client) used to, but all the stations I personally listened to disappeared (when Live365 died) or their providers (radionomy and tunedin) set up blockers such that you can't listen to them except through their own clients. As such, I never rebuilt the service for the 2.0 versions of my app.

So you'll be limited to what clients you can use to listen to the stream. Also, it is a direct stream, so you'll still need to poke a hole in your firewall (via network forwarding) for the outside world to get to it. The Subsonic UI doesn't proxy/relay the stream over - it is a direct play straight to the original service.

tl;dr - nothing is impossible, but none of this is trivial, either.
--
Joe Shelby
http://subfiresuite.com/
http://subfireplayer.net/
User avatar
acroyear
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:05 pm
Location: Northern, VA

Re: roon bridge + streaming

Postby lenovomi » Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:39 am

Hi,
could you advise some up to date / documented sound server?

well i dont wanna stream via any "official" radio platforms etc... i wanted to stream somehow into / inside subsonic and consume stream via subsonic client.

thanks!
lenovomi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:53 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests