SubSoinc.org down in Southwest United States

Need help? Post your questions here.

Moderator: moderators

SubSoinc.org down in Southwest United States

Postby Orbitrix » Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:15 pm

Just FYI www.subsonic.org and all URL forwarding service addresses are currently unreachable in the southwest United States. Direct connections to my IP address still work.

Please Advise.
Orbitrix
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 6:48 pm

Postby cmar618 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:18 pm

I'm in CT and and having the same problem. I'm glad to hear it's not just me.
cmar618
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:14 pm

Postby ofthecrutch » Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Over here in the Netherlands its down too :P

The whole subsonic.org domain is down by the way.

Is there anyone that knows how long this could take?
ofthecrutch
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 4:35 pm

Postby bushman4 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:10 pm

It appears to be (after some REAL quick testing) one of the routers at Sindre's ISP is faulting. [208.109.113.174]

It seems to be only routing packets intermittently. A constant ping has seen 90% of packets dropped.

FYI...

Glenn
User avatar
bushman4
 
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:47 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Postby beezy » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:49 pm

Out here in Picksburgh too :?
beezy
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:05 pm

Postby bushman4 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Don't forget that you can always connect via IP address even if the Subsonic domain is not working.

From the subsonic server, go to www.whatismyip.com. Make a note of your IP address listed there.

Then use http://IPAddress:SubsonicPort as your web destination (or server address on a remote app) and connect directly.

I have a second server called "Home Direct" on my droid set up similar to this (but because it is a Windows Home Server I can use http://name.HomeServer.com:PortNumber, because the chance that both Subsonic AND Microsoft's domains will be unreachable is remote).

HTH,

Glenn
User avatar
bushman4
 
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:47 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Postby jaquense » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:56 pm

out in New Jersey as well

Sindre, any word? I can reroute through my dyndns.org address but my users are not that, um...smart
jaquense
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:06 pm

Postby madeintheuk » Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:16 pm

It's down here in Massachusetts. Thank god, I just got the registration code yesterday and i thought it waas me. :P
madeintheuk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 6:35 pm

Postby Jittery Jim » Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:39 pm

bushman4 wrote:Don't forget that you can always connect via IP address even if the Subsonic domain is not working.

From the subsonic server, go to www.whatismyip.com. Make a note of your IP address listed there.

Then use http://IPAddress:SubsonicPort as your web destination (or server address on a remote app) and connect directly.

I have a second server called "Home Direct" on my droid set up similar to this (but because it is a Windows Home Server I can use http://name.HomeServer.com:PortNumber, because the chance that both Subsonic AND Microsoft's domains will be unreachable is remote).

HTH,

Glenn


Thanks for this, as subsonic.org is down in the Spokane, WA/Coeur d'Alene, ID area as well.

What I am having trouble with extends beyond subsonic.org; the IP route is not working for me either; it won't load on both my remote PC or iPhone, despite the fact that I can access the server it's self through a remote client just fine. Grrrr....
Jittery Jim
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 12:13 am

Postby beezy » Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:04 pm

bushman4 wrote:Don't forget that you can always connect via IP address even if the Subsonic domain is not working.

From the subsonic server, go to www.whatismyip.com. Make a note of your IP address listed there.

Then use http://IPAddress:SubsonicPort as your web destination (or server address on a remote app) and connect directly.

I have a second server called "Home Direct" on my droid set up similar to this (but because it is a Windows Home Server I can use http://name.HomeServer.com:PortNumber, because the chance that both Subsonic AND Microsoft's domains will be unreachable is remote).

HTH,

Glenn


Right on forgot about that. Works fine now.
beezy
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:05 pm

Postby Orbitrix » Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:01 pm

bushman4 wrote:I have a second server called "Home Direct" on my droid set up similar to this (but because it is a Windows Home Server I can use http://name.HomeServer.com:PortNumber, because the chance that both Subsonic AND Microsoft's domains will be unreachable is remote).

HTH,

Glenn


I do this as well, but it is frustrating that the official android client still only allows you to store 3 connections. I have way more than 3 friends with SubSonic now, and would like to be able to store all of them, as well as the backup IP for my own connection.
Orbitrix
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 6:48 pm

Postby donpearson » Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:35 pm

Your ip address is also in the image below :wink:
Facebook Group:
http://www.facebook.com/groups/subsonic.group/

Image
donpearson
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:53 pm
Location: UK

Postby donpearson » Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:52 pm

All i get from my system is:

ERROR
The requested URL could not be retrieved

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

While trying to retrieve the URL: http://www.subsonic.org/

The following error was encountered:

•Connection to 97.74.125.134 Failed
The system returned:

(110) Connection timed outThe remote host or network may be down. Please try the request again.

Your cache administrator is webmaster.



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Generated Tue, 01 Mar 2011 23:39:29 GMT by smoothwall (squid/2.7.STABLE9)
Facebook Group:
http://www.facebook.com/groups/subsonic.group/

Image
donpearson
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:53 pm
Location: UK

Postby oldsjunkie » Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:56 am

bushman4 wrote:Don't forget that you can always connect via IP address even if the Subsonic domain is not working.

From the subsonic server, go to www.whatismyip.com. Make a note of your IP address listed there.

Then use http://IPAddress:SubsonicPort as your web destination (or server address on a remote app) and connect directly.

I have a second server called "Home Direct" on my droid set up similar to this (but because it is a Windows Home Server I can use http://name.HomeServer.com:PortNumber, because the chance that both Subsonic AND Microsoft's domains will be unreachable is remote).

HTH,

Glenn


I see where this would be very helpful. Although wouldn't a dynamic IP cause an issue with this method? Because it's down in Indiana too, and I've been lost all day without it! :(
oldsjunkie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 3:06 am

Postby donpearson » Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:04 am

oldsjunkie wrote:I see where this would be very helpful. Although wouldn't a dynamic IP cause an issue with this method? Because it's down in Indiana too, and I've been lost all day without it! :(


Yes it would but its just a quick fix while subsonic is down :wink:

Or you can always setup a free http://www.dyndns.com/ account and not use the subsonic system.
Facebook Group:
http://www.facebook.com/groups/subsonic.group/

Image
donpearson
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:53 pm
Location: UK

Next

Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests