subsonic starts, but is not listeing ti the defined port

Need help? Post your questions here.

Moderator: moderators

subsonic starts, but is not listeing ti the defined port

Postby mad99 » Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:28 pm

Hey forum,
I installed the current version of subsonic on a server running debian 10
I can start it:

Code: Select all
root@ns317:/var/log# /etc/init.d/subsonic start
Starting subsonic (via systemctl): subsonic.service.
root@ns317:/var/log# /etc/init.d/subsonic status -l
● subsonic.service - LSB: Subsonic daemon
     Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/subsonic; generated)
     Active: active (running) (thawing) since Thu 2020-10-22 14:53:14 UTC; 7s ago
       Docs: man:systemd-sysv-generator(8)
    Process: 2700 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/subsonic start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
      Tasks: 30 (limit: 18996)
     Memory: 1.1G
     CGroup: /system.slice/subsonic.service
             └─1548 java -Xmx512m -Dsubsonic.home=/var/subsonic -Dsubsonic.host=xx.yy.zz.0 -Dsubsonic.port=4040 -Dsubsonic.httpsPort…

Oct 22 14:53:14 ns317 systemd[1]: Starting LSB: Subsonic daemon...
Oct 22 14:53:14 ns317 systemd[1]: Started LSB: Subsonic daemon.


But it does not listen to port 4040

It is definitely running:
Code: Select all

ps -ef | grep 1548
subsonic    1548       1  1 14:31 ?        00:00:14 java -Xmx512m -Dsubsonic.home=/var/subsonic -Dsubsonic.host=xx.yy.zz.0 -Dsubsonic.port=4040 -Dsubsonic.httpsPort=0 -Dsubsonic.contextPath=/ -Dsubsonic.db= -Dsubsonic.defaultMusicFolder=/var/music -Dsubsonic.defaultPodcastFolder=/var/music/Podcast -Dsubsonic.defaultPlaylistFolder=/var/playlists -Djava.awt.headless=true -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -verbose:gc -jar subsonic-booter-jar-with-dependencies.jar


HTTP ERROR: 503
SERVICE_UNAVAILABLE
RequestURI=/

Powered by jetty://
mad99
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:00 pm

Re: subsonic starts, but is not listeing ti the defined port

Postby ramja » Sun Nov 22, 2020 2:58 am

I came across your post while trying to fix my very old Subsonic install on my Windows 7 machine that was throwing the same 503 error - Subsonic was running as a service and try as I might I couldn't fix the error. Upgraded to Subsonic 6 (service mode) - same 503 error. As a last ditch effort I installed Subsonic 616 in standalone mode and voila! it worked, but I spent several days rebuilding the database and playlists. Then, updated Java to 271 and POW! got a "Java.exe - Entry Point Not Found" in the dynamic link library api-ms-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll. Finally fixed that by fixing the Java-related Path and CLASSPATH environmental variables and including the full path name for the call to Java in the .cmd file. Used a "belt and suspenders" approach:
Code: Select all
REM  The directory where Subsonic will create files. Make sure it is writable.
set SUBSONIC_HOME=c:\subsonic-SA-616
REM  The host name or IP address on which to bind Subsonic. Only relevant if you have
REM  multiple network interfaces and want to make Subsonic available on only one of them.
REM  The default value 0.0.0.0 will bind Subsonic to all available network interfaces.
set SUBSONIC_HOST=0.0.0.0
REM  The port on which Subsonic will listen for incoming HTTP traffic.
set SUBSONIC_PORT=8089
REM  The port on which Subsonic will listen for incoming HTTPS traffic (0 to disable).
set SUBSONIC_HTTPS_PORT=0
REM  The context path (i.e., the last part of the Subsonic URL).  Typically "/" or "/subsonic".
set SUBSONIC_CONTEXT_PATH=/subsonic-SA-616
REM  The memory limit (max Java heap size) in megabytes.
set MAX_MEMORY=1024
c:
cd \subsonic-SA-616
set CLASSPATH="C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_271\bin"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_271\bin\java.exe" -Xmx%MAX_MEMORY%m  -Dsubsonic.home=%SUBSONIC_HOME% -Dsubsonic.host=%SUBSONIC_HOST% -Dsubsonic.port=%SUBSONIC_PORT%  -Dsubsonic.httpsPort=%SUBSONIC_HTTPS_PORT% -Dsubsonic.contextPath=%SUBSONIC_CONTEXT_PATH% -jar subsonic-booter-jar-with-dependencies.jar


I realize you are running on debian, but noticed the Java call specifies -Dsubsonic.host=xx.yy.zz.0 On Windows it is -Dsubsonic.host=0.0.0.0
The comments in the model batch file are:
Code: Select all
REM  The host name or IP address on which to bind Subsonic. Only relevant if you have
REM  multiple network interfaces and want to make Subsonic available on only one of them.
REM  The default value 0.0.0.0 will bind Subsonic to all available network interfaces.


Probably just differences in Windows vs. Linux conventions - but worth a try.

I was so glad to be able to get the rebuilt standalone version working that I have not tried running the service version with cleaned up environment variables to see if that fixes the 503 error. Most of the mentions of that error here haven't had much luck resolving it.

Good Luck (if you haven't already fixed it).
ramja
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:01 am


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests