help with android client

Need help? Post your questions here.

Moderator: moderators

help with android client

Postby gmoney91 » Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:03 am

Subsonic works fine for me on the PC, but as for my android phone I can only get it to work when I'm using wi-fi. Any suggestions on why this is happening? It was working without wi-fi when I first starting using it. Then, it I didn't use Subsonic for awhile until I finally decided to donate. I haven't got it working without wifi since.
gmoney91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 4:52 am

Postby GJ51 » Fri Apr 15, 2011 1:29 pm

Does it work on the SS Demo server?
Gary J

http://bios-mods.com
http://www.maplegrovepartners.com
http://theaverageguy.tv/category/tagpodcasts/cyberfrontiers/
User avatar
GJ51
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:58 pm
Location: Western New York

Postby gbaker49 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:08 pm

I am having the same issue, and yes the Subsonic demo server works fine.
WIFI works great, but over 3G I get network error when the phone tries to connect my pc server. I may have something set up wrong. Thanks for your help
gbaker49
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:03 pm

Postby GJ51 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:42 pm

This is most commonly due to port forwarding on the router not being set up correctly.

Go to http://www.canyouseeme.org/ enter your SS port number and click the Check box to be sure the Subsonic port is open.
Last edited by GJ51 on Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gary J

http://bios-mods.com
http://www.maplegrovepartners.com
http://theaverageguy.tv/category/tagpodcasts/cyberfrontiers/
User avatar
GJ51
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:58 pm
Location: Western New York

Postby gbaker49 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:50 pm

It says it's not open, so does this mean I need to get a static IP address and go through all that. I'm somewhat technical, but I haven't played around with that kind of stuff.
gbaker49
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:03 pm

Postby gbaker49 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:51 pm

It says it's not open, so does this mean I need to get a static IP address and go through all that. I'm somewhat technical, but I haven't played around with that kind of stuff.
gbaker49
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:03 pm

Postby GJ51 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:53 pm

Most problems are due to improper setup on the router. Setting a fixed internal ip address for the server and proper port forwarding rules on the router are essential for long term stability.

Never use port 80 or 443 - ISP's often use or block them and these are also the default ports on WHS for the remote login page. 8080,8081, work fine. 808X always works. I've seen others use different port numbers that have caused install failures.

READ: http://monroeworld.com/android/subsonic/ This is the Windows tutorial but most of the concepts apply to any setup. Specific setup instructions for other Operating Systems are available in the Tutorials section. http://forum.subsonic.org/forum/viewforum.php?f=6 and on the Subsonic website at http://www.subsonic.org/pages/installation.jsp

In Subsonic Settings/Network - UNCHECK " Automatically configure your router to allow incoming connections to Subsonic (using UPnP or NAT-PMP port forwarding)." make sure to hit the SAVE button, you may have to scroll down to see it depending on your screen size. UPnP or Plug & Pray works sometimes, but not very often and you're better off learning what's going on anyway. You're dipping your toe into the network mgmt. thing anyway, might as well learn what's going on as home networks don't get simpler as time goes on. As your network gets more complex, you're going to have to learn this stuff! No time like the present.

Manually assign a fixed intenal IP and static route to your server at the upper end of the address range of the router, out of the way of DHCP, e.g. 192.168.1.254

Set up your router manually. uPNP might work, but most often it doesn't. Learing how to do it will be a skill you'll love having as your network grows.

Check the Subsonic Control Panel to make sure it's using the right port you're going to use. I typically use 8080 - 440, 8081 - 441, etc.

Set up port forwarding in your router to direct traffic on the selected port to your server. Consult your router documentation to do this, they are all a bit different.

Learn your external IP address assigned by your ISP. Go to http://www.canyouseeme.org/ enter your SS port number and click the Check box to be sure the Subsonic port is open.

Test your setup by entering your external IP:port# to see if it connects. e.g. http://98.117.185.5:8084/ If it works, you're good to go.
Gary J

http://bios-mods.com
http://www.maplegrovepartners.com
http://theaverageguy.tv/category/tagpodcasts/cyberfrontiers/
User avatar
GJ51
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:58 pm
Location: Western New York

Postby gbaker49 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 3:04 pm

Thanks for the quick response, I will go into more depth and learn about my IP and my router using the resources you suggested. Thanks for taking the time to explain it.
I will let you know how I make out
gbaker49
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:03 pm

Postby gmoney91 » Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:35 am

I'm using port 8080, and it say's it cannot see my service, connection refused. I'm gonna go through the tutorials again and let you know I come up with.
gmoney91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 4:52 am

Postby GJ51 » Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:10 am

Make sure you understand your router's manual.
Gary J

http://bios-mods.com
http://www.maplegrovepartners.com
http://theaverageguy.tv/category/tagpodcasts/cyberfrontiers/
User avatar
GJ51
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:58 pm
Location: Western New York

Postby gmoney91 » Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:37 am

Ok, I got it working. Thank you for your help.
gmoney91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 4:52 am

Postby GJ51 » Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:58 am

Glad to hear you've got it working. Most of these problems are in the router setup. Unfortunately, there are no easy answers when it comes to understanding the router, as every mfgr. uses its own interface. Most of the major mfgrs. are pretty easy to follow, but get on of the routers that Verizon uses for FIOS and you can drive yourself crazy for days. Carefully reading, and understanding your particular router's maunual is the only way to get competence in managing your particular network configuration, ip configuration, and port forwarding.
Gary J

http://bios-mods.com
http://www.maplegrovepartners.com
http://theaverageguy.tv/category/tagpodcasts/cyberfrontiers/
User avatar
GJ51
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:58 pm
Location: Western New York

Postby DrClaw » Thu May 26, 2011 8:56 pm

So, I recently moved. Subsonic was working great before, I could access it from outside networks and all. However, I moved to a new house, same ISP, same router settings and for some reason can'd access it from a different network OR 3g on my phone. My port is forwarded correctly, I have no idea why its not working. I can still access if when IM in the same wifi network, but nowhere else. The port is open according to canyouseeme.org and I dont know what else the problem could be. My router is a lunksys wrt54g if it helps
DrClaw
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:14 pm

Postby GJ51 » Thu May 26, 2011 9:56 pm

What port are you set up on?
Gary J

http://bios-mods.com
http://www.maplegrovepartners.com
http://theaverageguy.tv/category/tagpodcasts/cyberfrontiers/
User avatar
GJ51
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:58 pm
Location: Western New York

Postby DrClaw » Fri May 27, 2011 12:15 am

Its set up on port 8079.

The old setup (before I started messing with it after the move) was 8080 which worked with no problems. Emphasis on the past tense

Apparently the html is working, as my friend was able to login from across the country. So I guess its just the android client that isnt working??
DrClaw
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:14 pm

Next

Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: J_T_W and 18 guests