Subsonic to output to Hifi

General discussions.

Moderator: moderators

Subsonic to output to Hifi

Postby axellec » Sat Apr 16, 2022 3:47 pm

Hi !
My subsonic server is running on a Raspberry Pi 4. It works fine :) and I can play music on various devices: smartphones, laptop etc.
Now, actually the RPi4 sits just next to a HiFi device. If I connect the audio jack output of the RPi4 to the HiFi, can I output the music on the HiFi ? If so, how do I control what music to play on Subsonic?
Thanks!
axellec
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2022 3:40 pm

Re: Subsonic to output to Hifi

Postby G8DHE » Sat Apr 16, 2022 4:13 pm

Use the Jukebox mode then it all plays on the serving computer, mine links into a low power FM transmitter (car radio interface type) which nicely covers the house ;-)
Geoff G8DHE
Version 6.0 Beta 2
G8DHE
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:56 pm

Re: Subsonic to output to Hifi

Postby axellec » Sat Apr 16, 2022 8:08 pm

Interesting, I hadn't seen that option... I'll give it a try. And so, if I understand it well, from a remote device you login with a browser on a user account set up to use jukebox mode, you select your music, and it plays on the device where the Subsonic server is (a RPi in my case).
Nice... I'll try! Thanks!
axellec
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2022 3:40 pm

Re: Subsonic to output to Hifi

Postby G8DHE » Sat Apr 16, 2022 9:10 pm

Yes that's it. Under Settings Users you can select from a tick box which Users can make use of Jukebox mode.
Geoff G8DHE
Version 6.0 Beta 2
G8DHE
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:56 pm

Re: Subsonic to output to Hifi

Postby rchrdm » Wed May 25, 2022 2:19 pm

Hello
I found this thread and am trying to do the same thing. I have the Subsonic server on a PC and can log into it from a different PC. I can see the list of music that is on the server on the remote PC. I have Jukebox selected in Setup, but when I play musing on the remote PC I don't hear anything and the server PC does not start playing.
What did I miss?
rchrdm
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2022 8:04 am

Re: Subsonic to output to Hifi

Postby J_T_W » Wed May 25, 2022 3:56 pm

rchrdm wrote:Hello
I found this thread and am trying to do the same thing. I have the Subsonic server on a PC and can log into it from a different PC. I can see the list of music that is on the server on the remote PC. I have Jukebox selected in Setup, but when I play musing on the remote PC I don't hear anything and the server PC does not start playing.
What did I miss?


Duplicate: http://forum.subsonic.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=18924
J_T_W
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:13 pm

Re: Subsonic to output to Hifi

Postby axellec » Sun May 29, 2022 10:00 am

Okay, I'm still not getting it to work. The jukebox mode outputs no sound (the other mode works fine).
This is what I see in the logs:

Code: Select all
[2022-05-29 11:35:43,122] ERROR JukeboxService - Error in jukebox: javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException
javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException
   at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioMixer.openImpl(PulseAudioMixer.java:714)
   at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioMixer.openLocal(PulseAudioMixer.java:588)
...


I tested the speakers of the RPi with the following command, and it outputs fine:

Code: Select all
speaker-test -c2 -twav -l7


Same, omxplayer myfile.mp3 outputs the MP3 fine.

So, this looks like a Subsonic issue, no? Or is there something else to do on the RPi?

  • User subsonic is in the audio group.
  • This is Subsonic 6.1.6 on a dedicated RPi 4

In case it helps:

Code: Select all
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Headphones [bcm2835 Headphones], device 0: bcm2835 Headphones [bcm2835 Headphones]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7


Thanks
axellec
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2022 3:40 pm

Re: Subsonic to output to Hifi

Postby J_T_W » Tue May 31, 2022 9:00 pm

Don't know if you check this or not, but when you log into the web interface as an administrator, go to Settings\Players. On the "Select player" dropdown, find the player/user you are remotely controlling with. Set that player to "Jukebox", save, then try again. User account needs permission to play in Jukebox mode, player needs to be configured as a Jukebox player.
J_T_W
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:13 pm

Re: Subsonic to output to Hifi

Postby axellec » Wed Jun 01, 2022 9:20 pm

Yes, no problem on that side. I'm actually trying with an admin account that has all rights (that's for the user pane) + player is set to Jukebox (that's for the player pane).
axellec
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2022 3:40 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests