Page 2 of 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:20 pm
by morpheus214
Which Subsonic package are you installing?


Subsonic 3.7 standalone, stable

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:40 pm
by sgx1
In FreeNAS > System > Packages, verify you have the following:

diablo-jre-1.6.0.07.02
javavmwrapper-2.3.2
pkg-config-0.23_1
xextproto-7.0.2
xproto-7.0.10_1
xtrans-1.0.4

Versions may differ, but those should exist.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:45 pm
by morpheus214
Yes, I just checked it and I have them all. Even the versions are the same. Strange...

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:48 pm
by sgx1
It sounds as if everything is in place.

If you browse the /var/subsonic, you may see many new files and folders that were created by Subsonic. Try deleting everything except for the standalone folder to have them rebuilt.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 6:02 pm
by morpheus214
There is only the log file and the standalone folder. Is it possible that i haven't set the permission right?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 6:12 pm
by sgx1
It's a possibility. To verify, you can use the File Manager to view/change permissions. As a reference, mine has drwxrwxr-x on the standalone folder.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:18 am
by morpheus214
Changing the permissions on the files didn't solve the problem. Does it make a difference to which user the files belong? I created a new user in the wheel group (and all other groups selected as additional) and uploaded the files through the ftp server.

EDIT:

I installed the whole FreeNAS again and now Subsonic works fine! Thanks for your help anyway.

EDIT2:

After updating to FreeNAS 0.7RC1 and new java version etc. to get LAME encoding to work ( http://forum.subsonic.org/forum/viewtop ... 49bc3410f8 )
same error again. I am really running out of ideas.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:21 pm
by sgx1
During the FreeNAS installation, how big are you making the boot partition?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 4:39 pm
by morpheus214
2GB for potential future purposes and the swap partition ~400MB(i didn't change this setting).

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:53 am
by oxide[NL]
well,. subsonic didnt work for first time with me also on freenas,
turns out,. chmod 777 the subsonic folder
and after restarting the service it worked ^^

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:57 am
by oxide[NL]
oxide[NL] wrote:well,. subsonic didnt work for first time with me also on freenas,
turns out,. chmod 777 the subsonic folder
and after restarting the service it worked ^^



also chmod 777 and al the files in the transcode folder
*tip use flash fxp, you can chmod folders & and files easier with that

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:10 pm
by morpheus214
I logged me on as root and changed the permissions of 'subsonic' and all its sub-directories and files to 777 and restarted subsonic.sh, but unfortunately I always get the same error message in the log (see 1st page).

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:44 pm
by sindre_mehus
morpheus214 wrote:It doesnt' work for me.

I tried to install it on FreeNAS v. 0.69.2. I installed the packages needed for java as well as diablo-jre-freebsd6.i386.1.6.0.07.02.tbz. Then i created a folder /var/subsonic/standalone/ and copied the contents from the *.tar.gz into the folder. I set the path for the *.sh file and restarted.

When i opened <myfreenas>:8080 in the browser, nothing happened, so i started the sh-file again through the command --> again nothing.

So i opened the subsonic log:

Code: Select all
118 [main] INFO org.springframework.context.support.ClassPathXmlApplicationContext - Refreshing org.springframework.context.support.ClassPathXmlApplicationContext@34a1fc: display name [org.springframework.context.support.ClassPathXmlApplicationContext@34a1fc]; startup date [Mon Jul 27 14:21:21 GMT 2009]; root of context hierarchy
365 [main] INFO org.springframework.beans.factory.xml.XmlBeanDefinitionReader - Loading XML bean definitions from class path resource [applicationContext-deployer.xml]
Exception in thread "main" org.springframework.beans.factory.xml.XmlBeanDefinitionStoreException: Line 5 in XML document from class path resource [applicationContext-deployer.xml] is invalid; nested exception is org.xml.sax.SAXParseException: cvc-elt.1: Cannot find the declaration of element 'beans'.
   at org.springframework.beans.factory.xml.XmlBeanDefinitionReader.doLoadBeanDefinitions(XmlBeanDefinitionReader.java:369)
   at org.springframework.beans.factory.xml.XmlBeanDefinitionReader.loadBeanDefinitions(XmlBeanDefinitionReader.java:313)
   at org.springframework.beans.factory.xml.XmlBeanDefinitionReader.loadBeanDefinitions(XmlBeanDefinitionReader.java:290)
   at org.springframework.beans.factory.support.AbstractBeanDefinitionReader.loadBeanDefinitions(AbstractBeanDefinitionReader.java:142)
   at org.springframework.beans.factory.support.AbstractBeanDefinitionReader.loadBeanDefinitions(AbstractBeanDefinitionReader.java:158)
   at org.springframework.beans.factory.support.AbstractBeanDefinitionReader.loadBeanDefinitions(AbstractBeanDefinitionReader.java:184)
   at org.springframework.context.support.AbstractXmlApplicationContext.loadBeanDefinitions(AbstractXmlApplicationContext.java:112)
   at org.springframework.context.support.AbstractXmlApplicationContext.loadBeanDefinitions(AbstractXmlApplicationContext.java:79)
   at org.springframework.context.support.AbstractRefreshableApplicationContext.refreshBeanFactory(AbstractRefreshableApplicationContext.java:97)
   at org.springframework.context.support.AbstractApplicationContext.obtainFreshBeanFactory(AbstractApplicationContext.java:411)
   at org.springframework.context.support.AbstractApplicationContext.refresh(AbstractApplicationContext.java:338)
   at org.springframework.context.support.ClassPathXmlApplicationContext.<init>(ClassPathXmlApplicationContext.java:122)
   at org.springframework.context.support.ClassPathXmlApplicationContext.<init>(ClassPathXmlApplicationContext.java:66)
   at net.sourceforge.subsonic.booter.Main.<init>(Main.java:16)
   at net.sourceforge.subsonic.booter.Main.main(Main.java:21)
Caused by: org.xml.sax.SAXParseException: cvc-elt.1: Cannot find the declaration of element 'beans'.
   at org.apache.xerces.util.ErrorHandlerWrapper.createSAXParseException(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.util.ErrorHandlerWrapper.error(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.impl.XMLErrorReporter.reportError(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.impl.XMLErrorReporter.reportError(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.impl.xs.XMLSchemaValidator.handleStartElement(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.impl.xs.XMLSchemaValidator.startElement(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.impl.XMLNSDocumentScannerImpl.scanStartElement(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.impl.XMLNSDocumentScannerImpl$NSContentDispatcher.scanRootElementHook(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.impl.XMLDocumentFragmentScannerImpl$FragmentContentDispatcher.dispatch(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.impl.XMLDocumentFragmentScannerImpl.scanDocument(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.parsers.XML11Configuration.parse(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.parsers.XML11Configuration.parse(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.parsers.XMLParser.parse(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.parsers.DOMParser.parse(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.xerces.jaxp.DocumentBuilderImpl.parse(Unknown Source)
   at org.springframework.beans.factory.xml.DefaultDocumentLoader.loadDocument(DefaultDocumentLoader.java:78)
   at org.springframework.beans.factory.xml.XmlBeanDefinitionReader.doLoadBeanDefinitions(XmlBeanDefinitionReader.java:361)


Does this mean i have the wrong java version? I have no idea what to do now... Do i have to deinstall(how?) java and install another version?

Please help me :?


I have seen this error myself once and I *think* it was related to that the network interface was disconnected or something like that.

Make sure that your server has a working network connection and see if you get the same error.

Sindre

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:20 pm
by morpheus214
You were right Sindre.. such a stupid mistake.. :lol: I didn't turn off the firewall on the computer with the shared internet connection(for test purposes without router). Thanks to everyone who tried to help me. I have no idea why a internet connection is neccessary but i don't care as long as it works :)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:32 pm
by sindre_mehus
morpheus214 wrote:I have no idea why a internet connection is neccessary but i don't care as long as it works :)

It's very strange indeed. Hope to find out why this happens and fix it.