New user.Can not log in.No help from support.

Need help? Post your questions here.

Moderator: moderators

New user.Can not log in.No help from support.

Postby jtaylor13 » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:10 pm

I am a new user set up on ubuntu. It ask for user name and password. NO admin admin does not work.No help from support.
jtaylor13
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:02 pm

Re: New user.Can not log in.No help from support.

Postby BKKKPewsey » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:29 pm

jtaylor13 wrote:No help from support

:? and what support is that?

A little time looking at the forum and you may have realised that posting a request for help may be better off in the HELP section.

:mrgreen:
Everyone is entitled to be stupid, Image but some abuse the privilege!

Due to the confusion from too many genres of music, we have decided to put both country music and rap music into the genre of Crap music.
User avatar
BKKKPewsey
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: New user.Can not log in.No help from support.

Postby GJ51 » Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:11 pm

Perhaps he's wearing one. :mrgreen:
Gary J

http://bios-mods.com
http://www.maplegrovepartners.com
http://theaverageguy.tv/category/tagpodcasts/cyberfrontiers/
User avatar
GJ51
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:58 pm
Location: Western New York

Re: New user.Can not log in.No help from support.

Postby christheberge » Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:10 am

I think he means email support. I am unable to get up and running either, no answer yet from email support but am hoping to get an answer to my help post.
christheberge
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:40 pm

Re: New user.Can not log in.No help from support.

Postby GJ51 » Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:25 pm

OK. I apologize for what was supposed to pass as humor. I do realize that troublesgooting SS can be frustrating and it doesn't help to just be glib when someone is working to find an answer to a problem.

First - There is no support. This isn't Microsoft with an 800 number. The developer gets flooded with tons of email and simply doesn't have time to answer each one.

Therefore, the only support is in the form of this USER forum. That's just what this is - a USER forum where experienced users try to share what they've learned with new users that my be struggling with a problem already encountered and solved before.

Like ALL user forums - new users rarely search for answers that have already been answered hundreds of times and old timers occasionally get jaded in their answers and should probably just take a break instead of giving smart-ass answers. I can say this because I'm the biggest offender and often find myself in this very situation.

I thought I had already answered your particular situation before, but rather than doing a search, I'll try again to see if I can give you an answer that may be helpful. If it wasn't your post I answered, I know I addressed this issue very recently.

You are attemting to install and get Subsonic running on Gigapros. http://www.gigapros.com/

My son and I run somewhere around 15 websites out there in the cloud using ix webhosting and Virpus. Gigapros is the same thing, another vendor of hosting services offering a variety of hosting services. This is a whole different aninal than what a typical Subsonic user is doing. Most Subsonic installations are locally installed within the user's home network on a desktop or server within the home network. You are attempting to install Subsonic in a hosted environment. That may be possible, but I believe that can only be done if you have root access to the hostes environment. The cheaper hosting plans are typically very limited resources in a shared environment that does NOT allow root access.

In any case, I have yet to see anyone post that they have successfully done what you are trying to do. There is a company that the developer has posted will do this for anyone who wants this service, but it isn't cheap. I suspect that you need at least a virtual private server or a dedicated server package in order to install Subsonic in a cloud hosted environment.

Gigapros does offer application hosting for $10/month http://www.gigapros.com/portal/subsonic-server which looks like a viable option. If this is the plan you've contracted for and is not working properly, then only Gigapros can fix that for you. I did notice that their "Live Demo" really only links to the Subsonic demo site and is not actually a demo of Subsonic running on one of their servers.

From their site:

Subsonic Media Server

Subsonic is a free, web-based media streamer and an online jukebox. Use it to share your music with friends. Get the fastest and easiest Subsonic server at GigaPros. No more struggling with installation & configuration of your own Subsonic server. At GigaPros, you get pre-installed Subsonic music player, which works immediately out-of-the-box and includes full "admin" access! Enjoy 24/7/365 LIVE support and 99.9% uptime.

If this is what you purchased and it isn't working, then you need to contact them to find out why. No on here in the forum is likely to be able to pinpoint why or how they didn't set this up properly for you.

I hope that I have clearly addressed your particular issues and concerns and wish you the very best for this Holiday Season.

Merry Christmas!
Gary J

http://bios-mods.com
http://www.maplegrovepartners.com
http://theaverageguy.tv/category/tagpodcasts/cyberfrontiers/
User avatar
GJ51
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:58 pm
Location: Western New York

Re: New user.Can not log in.No help from support.

Postby 3R3 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:08 am

Wow, even though I didn't have the problem I sure learned 1 or 2 things from your answers. You shall heretofore be redeemed and atoned from all smart-assery :) Thank you for taking the time and making the forum a better place!
User avatar
3R3
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 2:09 pm
Location: Germany


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests